Poets logo

Rubble and Metal and Bones

All that's Left

By Emily McGuffPublished 3 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - July 2024

All that’s left

Of what once was

Is rubble and metal and bones

What history books we can find

Show us the world we have left behind

The sickness that pulled the world to its knees

Left it crippled, revealed the weaknesses underneath

Until all that was left was just

A village of myths and tales

Until all that was left was us

A people of steam and tusks

Sun do you have to follow me?

To the outskirts of this city beyond?

The dirt of the paths well-trodden

Mark my feet with a pale coat of dust

I dance on the cracks of the once-roads

Arrows pointing straight to the heart

Of a place full of walls high as birds glide

Or at least the ones that haven’t fallen

The sight never ceases to wonder

The brokenness spreading so wide

Oh what people could have lived here?

And did they know they were going to die?

I dig and I search and I find

Souls lost in addition to mine

Would they know the same traps that I fear?

That life’s more than just cogs to a gear

I dig and I search and I find

Souls lost in addition to mine

They must’ve known the same cracks in my chest

The questions that refuse to let me rest

All my life

I’ve been called

To this place beyond

All my life

I quest

To remove this weight from my chest

All the roads seem to lead here

Pointing at a brittle land of dust

All my life I am drawn here

To the unsettled sand of the past

And though I can’t see past the rubble

I know I am part of it all

Did someone hear my question?

What is this slip of something?

A map of my world - but it can’t be

Who are these others?

These people I’ve never seen?

artFree Verse

About the Creator

Emily McGuff

Author of Crystalline (self-published on Amazon)

Lover of lyrics and poetry.

Obsessed with sci-fi and fantasy.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • Serenity✨about an hour ago

    Great one!

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout 2 hours ago

    Mystery and Darkness pervades this intriguing poem!

  • T. Lichtabout 3 hours ago

    Coming back to say congratulations 🎊 on ts!!!!!!!

  • Kalina Bethanyabout 5 hours ago

    Gorgeous heart-wrenching piece

  • angela hepworthabout 5 hours ago

    This is stunning writing! Congrats on Top Story!

  • Margaret Brennanabout 5 hours ago

    congrats on TS. I can't help but wonder if this is a work of fiction or foresight. either way, it's brilliant.

  • Liam Stormabout 5 hours ago

    Great poem! Congrats on top story!

  • T. Licht3 days ago

    Wow. Heart-felt ❤️💕💖

Emily McGuffWritten by Emily McGuff

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.