Poets logo

Seasons Of Grief

The Beauty In Goodbye

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
9
Seasons Of Grief
Photo by Marko Blažević on Unsplash

Summer leaves fall down like snow, as the lake takes back her shores

The flowers bloom wears frost of white and the grass no longer grows

The harvest moon surveys the land, making sure all is at rest

The winter birds have settled in while, the robin leaves her nest

Nature, hand and hand with death, practicing the art of letting go

Goodbye is just a long goodnight, like the rain that turns to snow

The flowers yield to the cold, hard ground, as the trees bare themselves in grief

Knowing a fire burns underneath, awaiting the sun to set them free

I cry tears of loneliness, my face a shade of coal, holding onto memories, while winter heals my soul.

Until the reawakening, when springtime makes us whole, I will rest my weariness, displaying the beauty of my own

vintagesurreal poetrysad poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirationalheartbreak
9

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Love the transition through the seasons. Beautiful piece.

  • Oooo, I loved how poignant this was! Awesome poem!

  • A warm cup of hot cocoa in front of the fireplace makes that long night/goodby go by much more quickly.

  • Mark Graham7 months ago

    Very descriptive of the season.

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    'Tis the season. Great job on this one!

  • Denise E Lindquist7 months ago

    Thank you! Great poetry. There is way too much grief at this time in life for me. I am choosing to look at fall as my favorite time of year to see. The colors, the temperature, the holidays and events, changing of seasons and all that goes along, I get to just be.😊💕❤️

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    🧡

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.