Poets logo

Unpolished Greatness

English

By Ken Clepper Published 24 days ago 1 min read
Like

"Stop gazing into the mirror, seeking validation from others' opinions. Stop worrying about what everyone else sees - your crooked teeth and off-beat smile are perfect just the way they are. Perfection is merely a perception, a screen of insecurity projecting false ideals. Children play pretend, adults play pretentious. I'd rather you show me your authentic self, flaws and all, than present a deceiving facade.

I know true perfection in my life - I see it in my art, feel it in the Bronx, and wear it on my sleeve with my family name, imperfectly spelled. Good stories don't come from glossy surfaces; they come from the mud. And honestly, I embrace your faults, flaws, and imperfections. I love them because I can't judge them. My favorite parts of you are the ones you worry about most, the parts that make your story worth telling.

Purity is boring; perfection is begging for mercy. True perfection is accepting the reflection in the mirror, honest and unapologetic. That's why I don't seek perfect people; I seek perfect moments. And I'll take broken language over perfect poetry any day. Authenticity is the real magic; it's the bright light that magnifies our true selves. So, stop chasing the unachievable and live your reality. Embrace your imperfections, and let's shine together."

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Ken Clepper

Versatile wordsmith and history buff: poet, author, essayist, and enthusiast of the past."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.