Poets logo

Season of the Sneeze

Babs' Unofficial Challenge, Ask Me In December (Lyrics)

By Christy MunsonPublished 13 days ago Updated 12 days ago 1 min read
7
Season of the Sneeze
Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

In celebration of Babs Iverson's third anniversary as a wonderful Vocal creator and her 300th story, please enjoy my entry in her unofficial challenge, Ask Me In December. See my lyrical inspiration below to reference the melody.

_________________________

Three years gone and I'm still fighting with your ghost

and she's hogging all the blankets while I'm busy burning toast

and every time I think I've got a handle on my broken heart

your whisper comes round telling me, alone's not what you thought

and I say,

ask me in December when the weather's back to cold

and I haven't got the impulse

to come break your bloody nose

and you’re not only one to make mistakes --

but now I find

every thing about that girl's a bloody warning sign

and I

loved you once, but I cannot remember why

and I recall

you fell apart, every time a teary eye

and now

I'm happy on my own and I'm good to say goodbye

ask me in December and I might just make the time...

and I

love Virginia but you're the Season of the Sneeze

and I

hate to think of how you've fallen to your knees

and it's

half my fault - ya know, I know I'm hard to please

but you

left for good and now

I know what's good for me

//

and I

love Virginia but you're the Season of the Sneeze

and I

hate to think of how you've fallen to your knees

and it's

half my fault - ya know, I make it hard to breathe

but you

left for good and now

I know what's good for me

... and you're no good for me

____________________

Inspired by Noah Kahan's Stick Season

_____________________

Copyright © 04/17/2024 by Christy Munson. All rights reserved.

Song Lyrics
7

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Check out Welcome! for nav assist & Vocal creator recommendations.

Top Stories: 🥳

APR 2024 | APR 2024

MAR 2024 | MAR 2024 | MAR 2024 |

FEB 2024 |

JUN 2021

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • TheSpinstress2 days ago

    Oh, so good. I loved "and I loved you once, but I cannot remember why". Incredibly relatable.

  • Andrea Corwin 12 days ago

    Ahhhh Choo! 🤧. And bye bye 🤨 enjoy the time to yourself

  • This made me cry 😭😭😭😭😭😭😭 It just hit me so hard and was extremely relatable!

  • Babs Iverson13 days ago

    Brilliant and beautiful lyrics!!! Loving it!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.