Poets logo

Scrabble

an endless, painful game

By Ashley LimaPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
14
Scrabble
Photo by Sven Brandsma on Unsplash

it's an impossible game of Scrabble:

trying to come up with the right words

to find the meaning of these feelings

boring a hole in my chest.

brain on fire,

burning the matter into dust.

rusty nails squeaking,

mussing up my eardrums.

white noise,

shattered glass,

I'm the person

who threw the plate on the floor.

I thought it would help me feel something,

but the only thing I sense is the numbness.

a tingling sensation

of scattered body parts,

my floating mind

reaching out

trying to find

the meaning of nothing.

sad poetry
14

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Boy do I ever feel detached sometimes.. 😔 Hope u are alright! I have smashed stuff on the floor too! It feels good for about half a second! 😅 Thinking of ya and loving this honest piece!!

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Sad but beautiful.

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Melancholy with a capital S!!!❤️❤️💕

  • This resonated so deeply with me! Loved this emotional poem!

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    You still score very high. I've never thought of Scrabble as a metaphor for pain, but it works splendidly. Of course, it's all about finding words, which can be a major struggle under duress. But I was physically attacked once during a scrabble game years ago. I think alcohol was involved. 🥵

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    This is deep! Your words always seem to reach me on an emotional level. Very well done.

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    Nice work (several double-triple word scores!)

  • Alivia Varvel9 months ago

    Beautiful poem. I hope you’re doing well, and if not, I hope you’ll get there soon. In the meantime, I’m glad you’re still creating and sharing with us.

  • Mark Gagnon9 months ago

    I have a feeling this is about the story you wrote the other day. If I'm wrong, that's a good thing.

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    I thought it would help me feel something.… such a powerful way of describing sadness and emptiness. It's a horrible feeling.

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    Lol I usually have so much fun playing this 🤣

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.