Poets logo

poetry is painting

-

By Ashley LimaPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
34
poetry is painting
Photo by russn_fckr on Unsplash

poetry is painting.

each word

a detail

pointed, thought out, and practical.

reaching for a meaning

to tie the loose ends together.

poetry is painting.

each stanza

a focal point

filling out the body.

connecting spaces to fill the blankness

and make the piece feel whole.

poetry is painting.

each line

a brushstroke

yearning for the edge of the canvas.

the perfect time to stop

is when the artist feels it's done.

performance poetry
34

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Yusuf Alam3 months ago

    💯💯👌👌👌👌Ashley This Island Is Made Entirely of Gemstones https://vocal.media/01/this-island-is-made-entirely-of-gemstones

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    I love to paint and to write poetry, this is spot on. Well done.

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    This is so perfect! It describes poetry so so accurately

  • You have captured the art of poetry beautifully. Thanks for the joyous read.

  • Teresa Renton9 months ago

    Lovely metaphor for poetry. It is indeed like painting words—each tweak being like the dab dab of brush, to add that extra texture, that depth 😍

  • Ian Read9 months ago

    An excellent example of verbal precision. Awesome job on this!!

  • Bri Craig9 months ago

    The was this was written feel so precise and delicate! I really really enjoyed this.

  • Lana V Lynx9 months ago

    This is really good.

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    Ashley, mic drop! I think this is the best poem on poetry that I have read on Vocal. These lines are particularly well done: "each line / a brushstroke / yearning for the edge of the canvas."

  • 🎨🖌️Amazing and it is ❤️😉👌

  • Each line a brushstroke. That was brilliant! I loved your poem!

  • Beautiful ✨❤️ this is a perfect analogy

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Stunning! I was looking at my list of notifications and saw this title and knew I had to read it and already thought it was going to be great. Then you took it to another level. I totally agree and as I am the most terrible at drawing and painting, I love that I can use poetry and writing to "paint" Well done, Ashley!

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    ☺️Good one! I really like this analogy Ashley!! I can’t paint but it’s apt and true.

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    I particularly appreciate this, and can feel the brush constantly yearning for the edge of the canvass. 👏

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    Nailed it

  • ema9 months ago

    I love it! 💝

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Yes, yes, yes!!! You nailed it💕♥️♥️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.