Poets logo

Scheduled Conflicts

Challenge #5 You’ve Got Mail

By Oneg In The ArcticPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
12
Scheduled Conflicts
Photo by Joanna Kosinska on Unsplash

Confirming Friday 18th at 2:00

The dead line

Where truth will be laid to rest

So that one could grow along the line

Heal and recover from the past

Mistakes that weren’t really mine

The acknowledgment, the acceptance

That I am not at fault

For the mistakes of others

That have haunted like ghosts in nightmares and in light

I know there will be tears shed

So that they can water the seeds of my future

Aromatic herbs and spices of life

But for now, I await as patiently as I impatiently can

For numbers to change and the day to come

When I will have to confirm what I already know, and speak it into reality

~

For this challenge I took my most recently email which was from my therapist confirming our session this Friday. I based the poem around what I know I will need to talk about with her. Let’s hope for the best!

~

This is the fifth challenge in James & I’s summer writing extravaganza which you can read about more below:

The challenge prompt is to start a story/poem with the last line of an email or letter you recently received.

This is like chain mail 🔗 though because you need to send this challenge to 3 other people!

Hope you’ll join us in this challenge.

sad poetry
12

About the Creator

Oneg In The Arctic

A storyteller and poet of arctic adventures, good food, identity, mental health, and more.

Co-founder of Queer Vocal Voices

Some other rad writers to check out:

James ❄️ TheDaniWriter ❄️ Melissa

RiverJoy ❄️ J. Delaney-Howe ❄️

Water is Life ✊

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    Wow! That was a significant appointment. I have never been to one, but I think that I would like to do at least one session. There is so much to read on your page, I have to come back. I also have to write a challenge. Hope all went well.

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Whoa! That was pretty deep! Hope it went well. Thanks for sharing. 💖

  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    I understand completely, thank you for sharing this wonderfully written piece!

  • Leslie Writes9 months ago

    Honest and heartfelt poem 💖

  • This was really good! All the way through I was trying to figure out what was coming I did not guess therapy lol.

  • Oh this was so brilliant. The details of your appointment and the things you'd be talking to her about. Very well done!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    This was fantastic!!! Loved this!!!

  • James U. Rizzi9 months ago

    "When I will have to confirm what I already know and speak it into reality" Your poetry is always so killer I love it, so cool.

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Brilliant work Oneg!👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

  • For me, it's every other Wednesday. Today was the day & my computer decided it needed to update during our tele-med, cutting off my mike until the update was complete. Fortunately, it only took a couple of minutes. Still aggravating.

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    I really like this! Now I understand the challenge. I'll attempt to write something. Thank you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.