Poets logo

Running Through a Hurricane

to my grandmother's kitchen

By Cathy holmesPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
Photo by Zoltan Tasi on Unsplash

Somedays I want to run headlong into a hurricane,

despite the driving rain and gale force winds I’ll face along the way.

Those gale force winds stealing my breath with every inhale.

The driving rain blinding my path and searing my body,

until my lungs are saturated with fire.

I’ll struggle on my way,

despite nature’s attempt to force me backward.

Backward towards forward.

I’ll pick myself up and fight my way forward.

Forward towards backward.

Until I reach the centre, where I'll find peace

in the eye of my grandmother’s kitchen.

On a Sunday night,

when the families have all gone to their separate homes.

When the dishes are all cleaned and put away.

When it’s just the two of us enjoying a cup of tea

and slice of her famous gingerbread,

or a tea biscuit,

or whatever treat she made that weekend.

Then she’ll tell me,

with a smile on her face and a tear in her eyes,

just what life was like,

in her version

of the good old days.

--------------

Written for the "grandma's kitchen" prompt in the FB group Vocal * Voices in Minor.

surreal poetryGratitudeFree VerseFamily

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (16)

  • Kristen Balyeat5 months ago

    I love this, friend! You did a beautiful job taking me right into the chaos of life, and then wrapped us in a warm cozy blanket of comfort in grandma's kitchen. I want to curl up in the lap of the end of this piece.

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Lovely work and memories Cathy!! ☺️👏

  • Stephanie Hoogstad6 months ago

    This was a very sweet tribute to your grandma’s memory. The use of the hurricane as a metaphor for life’s turmoil that you had to go through to get to the sanctuary of her kitchen was very on point. Great job.

  • L.C. Schäfer6 months ago

    I love this, I was always jealous of kids with grandmas!

  • Made me miss my grandma’s too

  • Tressa Rose6 months ago

    This makes me miss my grandma so. Great job ❤️

  • Reminds me of delivering newspapers in Watertown, South Dakota in blizzard conditions. I remember one storm where it was impossible to walk up one exposed icy street against the wind, so my brother & I had to walk around on a more sheltered street to approach it from the other side. Getting home to set my feet in front of a furnace vent was pure bliss. Sitting at grandma's table would have been even better.

  • Whoaaa, this was so intense, emotional and nostalgic! Gosh I'm at a loss for words! Well done Queen!

  • Shirley Belk6 months ago

    remembering precious moments....no wonder you'd fight a hurricane to get to her!

  • JBaz6 months ago

    Very nostalgic and wonderful. Awesome Cathy

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Lovely & awesome!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Tiffany Gordon 6 months ago

    Fabulous work Cathy! This was something special!

  • Amazing words and in a group I am totally unaware of. Thank you for these words

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    Oh, my God, Cathy, your Grandma, and my Grandma must have been cut from the same mold. I'm in tears; I love this. <3

  • Real Poetic6 months ago

    What a relatable feeling to sit at the table with grandma and listen to her history! Amazing poem that brings nostalgia.

Cathy holmesWritten by Cathy holmes

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.