Poets logo

Reunion

from what I remember

By JPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Never ending Cosmos - F.W.Stumpfi 1979

Dear Auntie,

Last night you came home for the first time in forever. Maybe ever.

The house felt empty with you in it. I'm sorry for the cracks in the floor, and the sharp objects embedded in them. No, they are not baby-shoe safe. Yes, the kids can have my room. I'm sorry, too, that there is a sink there instead of a bed, that the staircase in the middle leads to nowhere; and the windows let in no light, only fog. Have you seen my mother?

Dear Cousin,

I'm sorry that the baby broke your drum, and that the song it plays now doesn't sound like music. I think I hear your father coming. You can use my sister's room. She won't be home for a while, she said, and I believe her.

Hello, Uncle.

I suppose I should have expected you. I understand the house looks empty, but I'm not sure I have room for all these things you have collected. Did Grandma's house shrink down so small, so quickly? Have I seen your son?

No, have you?

Mental Healthsurreal poetryStream of Consciousnessnature poetrylove poemsheartbreakFamily

About the Creator

J

I will not say: do not weep; for not all tears are an evil

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Did the narrator commit suicide? If no, then I have completely misunderstood this 😅

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    That this quite sad, but I like how you put it together. Well done.

  • Margaret Brennan5 months ago

    Great!! reminds me of my distant family

JWritten by J

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.