Poets logo

(s)well

.

By JPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
3
Max ernst

Still

I was so

Unready, then

When the sky went dark

I had looked away, at first

Labelled it a trick of the light

White flags, stained red by trauma

Warning cries in jumbled morse code

Begging me to please be re-deciphered

The second time, I'd leaned in further

Scraped my belly on the ocean floor

To pull you back out of yourself

To bring you back to me; us

Back, as if you had been here and

Not off navigating oceans of your own

Duck diving down for spare parts of me

Unable to form deep under pressure

With the rest of my sinking ship

This time, I see everything

I hear only static and strings

Frequencies, mounting in all directions

The web ripples inward, yet I cannot feed

Perhaps it is the nature of our nourishment

Or the spectrum that the light shines through

Revealing a darker yet not unfamiliar red

Woven three ways, with three points

Aiming squarely at the apple

Poised upon my tongue

In your empty space

Steady, now

Loose

sad poetrynature poetrylove poems
3

About the Creator

J

I will not say: do not weep; for not all tears are an evil

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    You do have a way with words. Subscribing to check out some more.

  • Kendall Defoe 3 months ago

    Excellent! Form meets content quite successfully here!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.