Poets logo

Purely For Research Purposes

Marriage and a Morning Beer

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 8 days ago 1 min read
Purely For Research Purposes
Photo by Marina Zaharkina on Unsplash

It’s nine in the morning!

Good Morning to you too.

At least you’re not boring.

I’ll split the beer with you.

 

Why are we drinking so early?

It’s just research for my book.

You know how it tastes, surely?

If it bothers you, don’t look.

 

You should have breakfast first.

There’s orange juice in the fridge.

Which is even more perverse.

There. Now I'll just add a smidge.

 

That won’t make it any better.

Yes, it does. Now it’s a beer-mosa drink.

Promise you’ll be mine forever.

Only if you take a shower. You stink!

 

Author's Note:

This poem was inspired by a conversation between my husband and I when he came downstairs on a Saturday morning, and found me drinking a beer while writing.

Yes, I did actually put orange juice in it! It's a thing my dad and I do when we're camping, we call it a Beer-Mosa (like a Mimosa).

As always, thanks for reading!

- Donna Fox (HKB)

social commentarylove poemshumorFriendshipfact or fiction

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (13)

  • Babs Iversona day ago

    Loved it!!! Love your line, 'Yes, it does. Now it’s a beer-mosa drink.'💕❤️❤️

  • Real Poetic4 days ago

    I’ll have to make me a beer-mosa today! Loved your poem.

  • Caroline Craven6 days ago

    Beer-mosa!!! I absolutely love it!! Might roll that out this weekend! Great poem!!

  • L.C. Schäfer6 days ago

    Ahhh, wedded bliss! 🤣

  • Beermosa sounds like a pretty name for a girl! Hahahahhahahahahaha!! I'll give you credit if I use it, lol. Also the part about the shower made me laugh soooo much! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 You guys are so adorable and funnyyyyyy! Loved this so much!!

  • I am so gonna try a Beer-Mosa!!!!!

  • Mark Gagnon7 days ago

    Beer and OJ all I can say is, different.

  • Hannah Moore8 days ago

    Ha ha! Hope the shower made the difference!

  • JBaz8 days ago

    Adorable, charming and fully acceptable ona Saturday morning while writing. Top story all the way

  • Andrei Z.8 days ago

    Yay, this is the right way to start a day😁 In France they add orange liquor (amer picon) to beer and call it Picon Bière.

  • 😂. Totally using that as an excuse! Completely a mind set thing, for me it’s less so about wanting the beer and more so about trying to get into the mindset of a person drinking that early in the morning. Yes… that is the reason… completely… ;) This was a great poem, Donna! I love the very Alex way of just accepting a partner’s quirks and loving them because of how unique they are. Thanks for sharing this humourous poetic anecdote!

  • Sweileh 8888 days ago

    Thank you I am happy with your exciting stories Watch my stories now

  • Paul Stewart8 days ago

    The more I learn about you and your "habits" the more I like you! This is another wonderful entry, HKB Foxxy!

Donna Fox (HKB)Written by Donna Fox (HKB)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.