Poets logo

Season's Readings

A Conversation Between My Husband and I, Told in a Series of Haikus.

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 9 days ago 1 min read
Season's Readings
Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

Have you read it yet?

I haven’t had time, sweetie.

Will you read it soon?

 

I will try tonight.

Please? I just need your feedback.

I'll read it later.

 

What time is later?

When I am ready to read.

When will that be though?

 

Never mind. I won’t.

What did you just say to me?

I will not read it.

 

But why not, my love?

Because you won’t stop asking.

Okay, I’ll stop now.

 

It’s too late, my love.

You're punishing my work though.

No, just the author.

humorheartbreakHaikuFriendshipfact or fiction

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (15)

  • Real Poetic3 days ago

    A conversation much too relatable.

  • Haha so true! Every writer has so done this.

  • L.C. Schäfer6 days ago

    This is such an awkward conversation,whichever side of it you're on 😬

  • Oh I know this feeling! Trying to get people, my editor (hi Dad! <3) especially to read the work without hounding is really difficult! Captured brilliantly though :) ( Also, Alex, c'mon man. Read the thing.)

  • I love the humor and tension. Very well written. I just subscribed to you...

  • Caroline Craven9 days ago

    Oh god. You could literally be a fly on the wall in my house!! Ha! This was great!

  • Omgggg Omgggg Omgggg, this is sooooo me!! Like literally me!! I have to keep asking until they do it. If they've not done it, I gotta know if they'd do it soon. If yes, I gotta know when. If later, I gotta know what time. I know me being this way annoys people but I can't help it. I need that reassurance. Like I just gotta know hahahahahahahahaha. Seriously this felt like Haikus about me 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Mark Gagnon9 days ago

    How to mess with a person's head, funny!

  • JBaz9 days ago

    I don't know whether to cry or laugh.... I just know I liked it.

  • Kendall Defoe 9 days ago

    Now, this was impressive! Excellent!

  • Dana Crandell9 days ago

    Oh, so relatable! I really enjoyed the haiku format, too. Clever and fun, H!

  • Lana V Lynx9 days ago

    That’s my daily texting with my son :). Excellent poem.

  • D.K. Shepard9 days ago

    I related to this so strongly!! A superb dialogue poem!

  • Paul Stewart9 days ago

    LOL....HKB...get the man in line lol. Get him telt (as we'd say in Scotland) This was kinda delightful though...well penned, friend!

  • Thank you very much for sharing!

Donna Fox (HKB)Written by Donna Fox (HKB)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.