Poets logo

Prehistoric Love Stories Are For Wusses

Primal needs, primal feeds...

By The Dani WriterPublished 27 days ago 2 min read
Top Story - June 2024
Photo by iStock on iStock.com

As far as spinosaurids go

I would say

I’m pretty easy on the eyes,

though paleontologists call me, "The Irritator”

I call them on intellectual elitism, shortsightedness, and lies.

I’m actually quite charming,

got a longish snout many find alarming,

but it sure made lady spinosaurids gaze,

their salacious, obvious thoughts slow-simmered in a haze

about 'mischiefs' that no doubt could last days,

until

that is,

they all went extinct.

Man

did that ever suck

for a fit and eager dinosaur

who never plied his luck.

My Mama wanted grandkids

but I held primal urgent reasons.

She enjoyed keeping extra snacks around

while I assumed an abundance of cretaceous seasons.

No idea why

it’d come as such a shock

that my procreation game been annoyingly on lock.

And I

ain’t

going out like that, Slim.

Got me a profile

on a sah-WEET dating site

called “Hybrids and Hookups” strictly adventurous types.

Hey, they’re cards I’ve been dealt

so I'm gonna play ‘em right.

I check online often,

make sure my butt ain’t gone soft and

but by heck,

cannot see

any PC ergonomics for li’l ol’ me,

practicalities they won’t ever be,

cuz I know that ish ain’t free.

I have mastered the art

of incognito,

stay highly motivated for change.

My “survival of the fittest” instincts

are natural adaptations that rearrange

my persona to the public as

tall, dark, non-binary, non-vegan with no attachments.

I’m a homeowner (Shhh…after I ate the guy,)

my online presence aids statutory enactments.

Therefore,

in the spirit of transparency,

being 'up front'

plus always keepin’ it real,

I eat humans on a regular,

on that I would not kid you.

Didn’t think I bought the whole meat section

at the grocery store daily,

come on now, did you?

And just in case you’re guessing,

my ‘fleek’ got major ‘flex,’

serious manual dexterity Baby

cuz these arms…way longer than a stupid extinct T-Rex

I keep numerous other aliases

to ensure I won’t be tracked

Top-of-the-line security software guarantees I won’t be hacked

Still hold out hope

there may be a female dinosaur in hiding

one whose DNA I’d gladly split,

whose pleasure I’d be providing

Admit it out loud,

you like me!

See, I’m not ingratiating.

Even though they call me Irritator

it don’t mean I’m irritating.

Photo by Pixabay on Pexel

humorFor Fun

About the Creator

The Dani Writer

Explores words to create worlds with poetry, nonfiction, and fiction. Writes content that permeates then revises and edits the heck out of it. Interests: Freelance, consultations, networking, rulebook-ripping. UK-based

Medium

FB

Twitter

Insta

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (18)

  • Dr. Jason Benskin21 days ago

    Awesome work! Love this read. Keep up he good work. When you get a chance please check out my work let me know your thoughts.

  • Novel Allen21 days ago

    Dino better stay far away from me, Jurassic as far as he should stray...plenty lady dinos hanging out over there, Funny and informative all in one. Congrats.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Babs Iverson22 days ago

    Fun, funny, funniest!!! Love it!!!❤️❤️💕 Congratulations on Top Story too!!!

  • BrettNotGreg22 days ago

    Love this perspective! Congrats on top story!

  • Khan22 days ago

    Congratulations on your top story ❤️

  • Margaret Brennan22 days ago

    bravo on TS. What an interesting way to look at a dinosaur. Awesome.

  • Congrats on your TS.

  • Such intellectual creativity and a fresh and clever perspective here! Excellent 👌job❤️

  • shanmuga priya23 days ago

    Congratulations 🎉

  • This is such an entertaining read...you are a funny one

  • Anu Mehjabin23 days ago

    Your creativity and humor are refreshing! This piece is both witty and charming, making the Irritator truly come to life. Keep up the great work! And congrats on your top story🎉

  • Joe Patterson23 days ago

    Reads like great microfiction.

  • Christy Munson24 days ago

    Creepy and ghoulish! You nailed it. "tall, dark, non-binary, non-vegan with no attachments." Boom.

  • "I eat humans on a regular, on that I would not kid you. Didn’t think I bought the whole meat section at the grocery store daily, come on now, did you?" Hahahahahhahahahahaha that was my favourite part! I also loved the last 2 lines! Fantastic poem for the challenge!

  • That was great fun and an excellent challenge piece

  • Cathy holmes27 days ago

    That was fun. I wonder if his name is Chad?

  • Dana Crandell27 days ago

    Incognito is difficult for us dinosaurs, but one must do what one must do. A fun read!

The Dani WriterWritten by The Dani Writer

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.