Poets logo

Pillows... The fluffy road to happiness.

A very special ode.

By Lamar WigginsPublished 9 months ago β€’ Updated 9 months ago β€’ 1 min read
18
Erika Wittlieb from pixabay

Dive into a puffy cloud atop a bed of cotton - dreaming of you

The reliance we share, is that of an old friend - confiding in you

Stuffed with love so firm, genuinely devoted- cherishing you

And saves the day like a trusty mechanic- relying on you

~

You're something to hold onto when she's not there

You capture the scent of her freshly washed hair

You're the only reason to ever hit snooze,

without your support my neck lies bruised

From down feathered satin to memory foam,

you always make sure I’m never quite alone

You love me too, how could you not?

I'm the only family you and the others have got

So, let me fluff you just the way you like

even though, at times, you're out of sight

~

The day is gone

the kids are sleep,

the dog is in

from his late-night pee

The time is here,

to lay down my head,

on the greatest place ever

It’s time to go to bed...

Heaven- Bing Dall-E

Thank you for stopping by. 😍

*

*

Enjoy more thought-provoking odes below.

love poems
18

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred8 months ago

    This is excellent

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    Awesome!!!

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Fantastic!

  • Hannah Moore9 months ago

    Read this on getting into my own bed, and oh yes, absolutely.

  • This is sweet πŸ₯°βœ¨

  • I do believe I may have gotten too comfortable with this one, Lamar. I think I slept right through it. Had to return to it this morning after I woke up again, lol. I resonate with every word of this, my friend.

  • A. Lenae9 months ago

    Very much love the ability you have to use the pillow as not only a place-holder for love and companionship, but to depict the pillow as a partner we all know intimately. The rythym of this and soft tone also invokes the sensation of laying down against a pillow stuffed with understanding. You have such a way with words - it's admirable.

  • Leslie Writes9 months ago

    This has such a soothing flow - very fitting for a poem about a pillow. Also love your rhymes.

  • Jay Kantor9 months ago

    So L-Bud - I GiT-U - You're nothing but a bunch of HouseHold' "Fluff" - It's as though you scoot around the house to see what to write about next - "Soap-Socks-Pillows" - Just hope the next is not the dirty clothes hamper. You're fun and I 'Nominate' you as the VM Community House-Cleaner-Upper of the day. J-Bro Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

  • Awww, I loveeeeee my pillow too! This was such a wonderful ode!

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    πŸ‘πŸ˜Š Agreed. β€œLet me fluff you just the way you like it” made me laugh! 🀣 Thanks.

  • πŸ’™ Lamar, though I am still away for a minute, I dropped by, glad I did. Whew! If my pillow had made me feel this way, I might not have married. Between your poem and a new book preview by another Vocal family member ... 😌 Bravo!!! πŸ’™πŸ‘‹βœοΈπŸ’™ πŸ“– BTW, you might want to check out that book preview. It's by Lacy Loar-Gruenler and follows an article she wrote. https://vocal.media/authors/lacy-loar-gruenler πŸ“–

  • Dana Stewart9 months ago

    I agree, I think you might sweep the top two slots! Then you can sleep easy, in only one sock!

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    I think I just read the winning poem!! I love every single line!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.