Poets logo

"PERILOUS CLIMB"

"STRUGGLING TO GET BACK TO THE TOP"

By Vicki Lawana Trusselli Published 14 days ago 5 min read
Top Story - April 2024
24
VIDEO BY AUTHOR PICTURES BY BING A.I. MUSIC IS CELTIC MUSIC & AUTHORS

PERIOLOUS CLIMB

STRUGGLING TO GET BACK TO THE TOP

Expressions of struggling and climbing to the top again a perilous journey of being human.

I had a dream last night.

I dreamed I was atop a tall building built alongside a cliff

As if

To tell me some truth regarding struggles of humanity.

I was so happy in the dream,

It did seem.

I oversaw a booth at a music concert.

The concert had many people that came from near and far

In their car

Or bus

Or train or plane

Anyway, they were going insane.

There were numerous musicians that were there

From out of everywhere.

They trusted me with their cell phones and wallets.

But to my surprise I was so ecstatic about their laughter

And down to earth love with me

To be

There with care

And watch them everywhere.

As I sat in the booth laughing and happy as could be

I forgot how I got there

Without a care

I had climbed up the stairs in the cliff

Of the mountain from the bottom up

To fill my coffee cup

Some of the stairs were rocks along the pathway

That protruded directly from the mountain cliff

In an odd, twisted way

Then the twist was I had to figure out the correct stairs to take

Along the way

The first time was like baking a cake.

Except all my cakes fell in the middle with sides

Soaking with dark chocolate icing

To run my finger through the icing on the sides

Slurping the chocolate off my forefinger

I knew not to linger,

Because if I did the cake would soon be gone

Inside my belly to be regurgitated along

The pathway

So, I pushed myself forward to keep the excitement strong

to not do anything wrong

So, friends would help me climb the cliff

And stairs

As I moved right along

Singing my song.

I turned the corner to see a wading pool

Waiting for me and the others to cross

Across

The large area of 20 feet

To drop off onto a steep

Staircase in front of the elevator

The guests took the elevator,

But the employees and workers had to climb

Perilous cliffs, stairs, and ponds

So, on I wondered atop the building built

Inside the cliff

As if

It would,

Welcome Vicki Lawana, have a good day.

So, the dream continued

After I woke up at 4am to a dark room

Filled with candlelight so bright,

I had to leave my booth position abruptly

When I fell back to sleep

I felt like I needed to keep

My friends cell phones and wallets with me

But treading down the cliff

Required the use of both hands.

So, no plans

To keep them safe

In that place

I seemed to float down the tall building out to the street,

Not knowing who I would meet.

I saw a guy with long dark hair,

Olive skin,

Brown eyes,

Walked up to him & he told me he was not to greet.

So, I looked around some more,

Saw a guy with light brown hair,

Hazel eyes,

Walking up to me

To greet

Me with a hug

So, I said welcome to Mount Potteet Bay

I do say

You look very handsome today.

So, we started to climb back to the top of the tall

Building so high in the clouds

Protruding off the side of a cliff

As if to say welcome to the Potteet Bay

But I lost connection with my new friend

As we turned the corner to go around the bend

The steps were narrow and

Full of danger as I climbed up and around as if I might fall onto the sand.

At the bottom of the tall building in the cliff

I lost my way

Several times that day

Frantically looking for the correct way

To the top

But I had to stop.

The pond was now a small lake.

I had to take

Deep breath to say

Oh, my we must swim across through the high water

To not drown as it’s very deep.

So, as not to loiter

I swam across the small lake that

Ended at another steep cliff of stairs.

I put one foot out, then another

As I saw more cliffs everywhere

I grabbed the protruding,

Pulled myself out of the water stepping onto

The narrow stairs built inside the cliff.

I was weeping and fear

Was as if to say no forward move baby blue.

I tried to climb the cliff,

But kept getting lost

To

The perilous climb

So, sublime

This time

And I woke up

To being one more step closer to the top

Of the tall building built inside a cliff

In Potteet Bay

Along the way

I had realized I lost the white coffee mug

My friend Margo had prepared for me

Along the way

But I knew I must get my coffee now

In my reality without climbing

Again

I am living on the bottom floor.

But know I am okay,

To not worry anymore

As I drank my coffee

I talked to my bird

With a word

Let’s write about the dream today love.

Songs playing as if

To say we can do this today

With blessings from above

All around

Rock on my sisters and brothers

Be strong.

Carry on.

Rock on.

Written by

VICKI LAWANA TRUSSELLI

An ole’ soul & psychic dreamer

Of movies & beyond

To different realities

& realms of humanity

ROCK ON!

Prosesurreal poetryStream of ConsciousnessMental Healthlove poemsinspirationalFree Versefact or fictionart
24

About the Creator

Vicki Lawana Trusselli

I worked for the music and film industry in Los Angeles, California and Austin, Texas. I studied nursing, journalism, art, film, and computers in college. I am an empath, Virgo; Leo moon rising, born on the cusp of Libra. Peace Out!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 4 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!

  • The Dani Writer7 days ago

    That "poem" is an adventure! Kudos Top Story-an!

  • angela hepworth7 days ago

    Wow amazing work here!

  • Paul Stewart8 days ago

    This is a stunning piece - love how it reads and feels like a dream...the shifting from one part to another part...changing locations...breathtaking really. Well done on Top Story, Vicki!

  • Flamance @ lit8 days ago

    The story is dope I like it

  • Wave8 days ago

    Cool

  • Belle8 days ago

    Beautifully written! Congrats on top story! Well deserved! I love the mix of the rhyming without a sure scheme and the broken sentences. It gives this jagged sense that closely aligns with the cliff imagery! Very well done!

  • Andrea Corwin 9 days ago

    Congrats on TS. You have crafted a very unique piece and added music and a movie!

  • JBaz9 days ago

    Wow you captured a dream like state and put it into words. I felt the mixed emotion and felt the absurdity of the situation. The comparison to cake was brilliant Congratulation

  • D. D. Lee9 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story

  • Christy Munson9 days ago

    Intriguing piece. Loved the music too. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Carol Townend9 days ago

    This is beautiful and a joy to read. I love your descriptive use of language.

  • Novel Allen9 days ago

    I see the gypsy xoming out of your soul. I too am an old soul and gypsy minded. Like souls...hello.

  • Shirley Belk13 days ago

    Creative version of your dream....fantastical

  • A place I want to visit! Love you!

  • Cathy holmes13 days ago

    That's a wild dream. Well done.

  • Babs Iverson13 days ago

    Reminds me of a dream two nights ago!!! Wonderfully written!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Hannah Moore14 days ago

    Lots of dream logic flowing here.

  • Great words and love the image/video. I haven't used AI music yet but I may do.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.