Poets logo

"BIRTH, LIFE, DEATH"

"ARE WE JUST DUST IN THE WIND?"

By Vicki Lawana Trusselli Published 13 days ago 2 min read
12
PHOTOS BY AUTHOR AND A.I. CO-PILOT MUSIC BY MELANIE DUST IN THE WIND

BIRTH, LIFE, DEATH

ARE WE JUST DUST IN THE WIND?

I walked outside in the 80-degree sunshine today.

I looked across the way

Of my once neighbor’s place

Where he once lived in that space

The apartment was cleaned out this week,

As he is either in the hospital very sick

Or passed onto another realm of reality.

He was an interesting person to talk with

And have a sit down on his porch,

To laugh a bit and talk about life as old

& The young years of time of reason and rhyme

Of sorts of conversation of how I carried my torch

Of independence for women and such as it may

Happen today.

I sit in my chair looking across the way,

Of a space once occupied by my buddy

Who is no longer there to carry his torch

On his porch,

As he has gone to another realm of consciousness

And the twist of this prose carries on in time

As I watch the trees sway and the clouds form pieces of art across the sky

I watch the shadows of the trees as they shade parts of the apartment

Once filled with my buddy waving hi

And the time

He brought Chachi to my front door,

As my fur baby had slipped out the door

To visit his buddy, Anthony, to say hi.

Now I say bye

To a once upon a time buddy.

I miss his greetings and smile.

But all the while

I realize we all are here for a short time,

No reason or rhyme

It is the universes plan

To expand

To birth

To youth

To live

Adulthood as we all do

To old age

To end life’s stage

We take a bow before the sun, the moon, the stars

Because that is what we are

HUMAN.

surreal poetryStream of Consciousnesssad poetryProseinspirationalFree Verseart
12

About the Creator

Vicki Lawana Trusselli

I worked for the music and film industry in Los Angeles, California and Austin, Texas. I studied nursing, journalism, art, film, and computers in college. I am an empath, Virgo; Leo moon rising, born on the cusp of Libra. Peace Out!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Sandra Tena Cole4 days ago

    💔❤️💖

  • Shirley Belk11 days ago

    lovely and sad...

  • We miss people , but we carry their memories in our hearts. Lovely words

  • I'm so sorry that your Buddy has moved on to the next cycle. But I'm so happy that you have such wonderful memories of your time with him. This is a beautiful way to send him off to his next adventure. Love you!

  • Sorry for his loss. Thank you for this insightful reflection on life

  • I'm so sorry for your loss 🥺 Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Mariann Carroll13 days ago

    I hope this poem give you some comfort, sending hugs !

  • Lamar Wiggins13 days ago

    So sorry for your loss. 🙏🏽 Your poem was full of emotion and contemplation of our time on Earth. So many things going on, so much to consider. That's why we should just enjoy each day for what it is...A blessing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.