Poets logo

Passing Seasons

A Poem for Autumn

By Judey Kalchik Published 7 months ago 1 min read
18
Photo by author

I am grateful for

the resting places of Fall.

Held close between

Summer and Winter

I can draw a breath

in the calm of the season.

~

Pumpkin spice abounds indoors

outside leaves releasing their breath

perfume the air

with echoes of sunlight

and the musk of tree-sleep.

~

Not yet frantic to become festive

people contemplate cocooning

remember cobblers and pies

strawberries blushingly concede to apples

and wool takes the place of honor.

~

Blazing orange, rust, lemon yellow

light the hills and ridges

catching winking sunbeams

sending messages to wistful eyes:

passing seasons have vibrant beauty, too.

~

Please click on the wee heart if my writing clicked with you, subscribe for FREE to see when my next piece is live, and drop in a comment to share your thoughts!

You can also find me on Medium.

nature poetry
18

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman7 months ago

    A stunning dedication to the transitional season of Autumn 'the musk of tree-sleep' - are you kidding? THAT is a beyond-stunning line/concept! WOW!

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    Beautiful job Judey! 🍁😊👍

  • Such a fall-worthy poem, especially the last stanza describing the trees changing colors. It is one of my favorite parts of fall to see all the different colors.

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Fal -abulous!!! Loved this!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Beautiful poem.

  • It is my favorite. More than a repast or bit of whimsy, it's a lifestyle!

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    beautiful

  • Mariann Carroll7 months ago

    This definitely give the fall feel 💓💓💓

  • JBaz7 months ago

    Oh, top story for sure. You captured fall beautifully

  • Mackenzie Davis7 months ago

    perfume the air with echoes of sunlight and the musk of tree-sleep. “Tres-sleep.” I love this so frickin much! Just wow, Judey. Every line of this is stunningly gorgeous and captures autumn perfectly. 😱💗

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    Lovely poem!

  • 🍂 I love this! Autumn is my soul's favorite season and your poem beautifully celebrates its unique splendor. Magnificent! 🍂👏🍂

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.