Poets logo

Paint and Weave

Magnet Poetry - Reader's Choice

By Christy MunsonPublished 11 days ago Updated 11 days ago 1 min read
8
Paint and Weave
Photo by David Hofmann on Unsplash

Author's Notes: I rediscovered my 1980's poetry magnets box and in it were two poems I find compelling. I recall having challenged myself to create two poems using the same set of words. These two poem are what spilled out.

Which one resonates more with you, version A or B?

Leave it in Comments. I'd love to know your thoughts!

Version A

Dismantle your animal thoughts

Dance with long tender silence

Give dark grief to rugged fire

Hold down my shadow

Flow wind and rain

Electric and shallow over our hot winter hearts

I want my friend

To join me under the surface

Hear me howl

Where I paint and weave

My spiral pattern

~*~

Version B

Dance and hold me, friend

Join our silence to tender thoughts

Paint and dismantle shallow surfaces

I hear rain,

Your long-rugged shadow,

Howl under me

Down where fire spirals

Hot with my dark grief --

Flow over my electric animal heart and

Give me the wind

I want to weave my winter pattern

__________________________

Copyright © 04/22/2024 by Christy Munson. All rights reserved.

surreal poetry
8

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Check out Welcome! for nav assist & Vocal creator recommendations.

Top Stories: 🥳

APR 2024 | APR 2024

MAR 2024 | MAR 2024 | MAR 2024 |

FEB 2024 |

JUN 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran11 days ago

    I think I prefer version B more. However, I loved both of them!

  • Andrea Corwin 11 days ago

    I like B - it is poetry in motion, especially the last part.

  • Ameer Bibi11 days ago

    Version B has a more solid flow and clear expression. It successfully conveys themes of connection, self-analysis, and evolution. The imagery is striking, and the flow of ideas goes naturally. Overall, Version B captures the heart of the message more concisely and plainly.

  • Mariann Carroll11 days ago

    Nicely done !!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.