Poets logo

One is the loneliest number.

An ode to the missing socks. A poem written from the viewpoint of a surviving sock.

By Lamar WigginsPublished 11 months ago โ€ข Updated 11 months ago โ€ข 1 min read
Top Story - August 2023
One is the loneliest number.
Photo by Nick Page on Unsplash

I sit in this drawer full of misfits,

longing for my twin and the culprit

do you know what it's like to feel so encumbered?

stuffed away, unimportant, knowing your days are numbered

I still have purpose; you just watch and see

humans are creative, they'll have a plan for me

I can see me now as a headband or mitten

keeping you warm or catching sweat that glistens

but the reality hits

like a ton of bricks

I can't find my soulmate,

only one foot can I fit

the drawer opens fast

two hands search at last

are they gonna choose me?

did they find my other half?

they just needed more room,

new socks are coming soon

you know what this means?

pack your bags cause we're doomed

will they burn us all and turn us to soot?

will I be given to a man with only one foot?

whatever happened to my best friend Pete?

did he jump ship because he didn't like the smell of feet?

to all the missing socks who don't have a home.

please sing along with me to this bon voyage song

because the time is near, our time has passed

Damn! I was right, here comes the fricken trash.

Goodbye, cruel world!

By Sigmund on Unsplash

Thank you for stopping by. ๐Ÿ’–

inspirationalsad poetryhumorfact or fiction

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (40)

  • ROCK 11 months ago

    Cute! In Sweden people are actually purchasing mixed matched socks. I could have made a fortune off my kids for years. ๐Ÿ˜‚

  • Dean F. Hardy11 months ago

    Poor Pete.

  • Teresa Renton11 months ago

    You made us care ๐Ÿ˜ง Brilliant! ๐Ÿ˜

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    Lol, I very much enjoyed this ode! Im surprised by how badly I feel for the sock, but then, I often wonder if itโ€™s the best idea to trash them when we could find one legged people to donate them to! ๐Ÿ˜‚ Congrats on top story! โค๏ธ

  • Awww, poor sock! Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    Ah, Lamar, this is great. I love this take. Full of tragedy, sadness and humour, all wrapped up together with the Wiggins clever wordplay! Congrats on a fine Top Story!

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER11 months ago

    ๐Ÿ‘ Your outcast allegory has me smiling ... and it reminds me to clean out my sock drawer. ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ˜Œ๐Ÿ‘ BTW, I will be away from Vocal for a while, but I will return to check on you and others who brought smiles to my heart. ๐Ÿ’™โœ๏ธ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ’™

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    Supercute! Brilliant work!

  • Oneg In The Arctic11 months ago

    Absolutely beautiful. Really enjoyed this and congrats on top story!

  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    'Sup L-Bud - Whew, you do jump the topics - that's what's fun about you - you are a writer, so you write. Although I do have a sock that's always stuck-up the dryer; as they tumble-off together. Hey, you can be silly! J-Bud

  • Leslie Writes11 months ago

    I love it when objects are personified this way. Poor little guy. At least he had a cool poem written about him ๐Ÿ˜Š

  • Test11 months ago

    โ€œwhatever happened to my best friend Pete? did he jump ship because he didn't like the smell of feet?โ€ Thatโ€™s the best.

  • Margaret Brennan11 months ago

    haha. never thought of odd socks that way. I usually put mine in the rag drawer. I'll never look at an odd sock the same way again.

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    This is great. Congrats on the TS

  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    Congratulations Lamar ๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿฅ‡๐Ÿฅ‡

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    Aw, I love this so much, Lamar!! ๐Ÿ˜โค๏ธ I, too, have often thought to myself that each pair of socks are soul mates ๐Ÿฅฒ How sad it is when one of them can't be found!! This is amazing ๐Ÿค—๐Ÿค—โค๏ธ Congrats on Top Story!!

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    This is a real gem, Lamar! Great entry!

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    Lol!!! I loved this. A great entry and I'll never look at socks the same way again.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    Lamar this is so creative! It has been on my reading list for long but Iโ€™ve been itching to get to it! I love the narrative you chose and the voice you chose to narrate this humorous yet tragic plight of a single sock. I love the note of them being repurposed! My dark sense of humour came out in the part when the sock questioned if they would be given to a man with only one foot. I have no idea why I thought that was comical but I did! So sad what happens to socks without their soulmate!! Iโ€™m a bit of a rebel and will take two lonely socks and put them together, even if they donโ€™t match. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Overall this was such a well written poem and is definitely deserving of a Top Story! Great work Lamar!

  • Alexandria Stanwyck11 months ago

    This was funny! It also made feel bad for the socks who are missing their soulmates. (Darn why did the dryer have to eat their friends?!)

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    Congratulations !!๐ŸŽˆ๐ŸŽ‰

  • Jazzy 11 months ago

    This was super cute! Congrats on TS!!!

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    Absolutely spot on!! I loved your take on this challenge. It flowed so well and kept me engaged :). Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Awesome ๐Ÿ‘ Congratulations on your Top Story๐Ÿ’ฏ๐ŸŽ‰

  • Yay!! Congratulations ๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽˆ ๐Ÿงฆ๐Ÿงฆ

Lamar WigginsWritten by Lamar Wiggins

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.