Poets logo

Of Love and Laundry

Gratitude for ordinary days

By Holly PheniPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - July 2023
48
Of Love and Laundry
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

There is a pile of laundry waiting for me…again.

I pick up your favorite shirt – nope, the red popsicle stain didn’t come out. Better use the stain stick on it.

I set it aside, smiling at the memory of your excited face watching the summer parade with the popsicle dripping down your chin, racing the sun that threatened to melt it before you absorbed all its cherry sweetness.

Yesterday was a good day. Ordinary, sticky, sweaty – but it passed with mostly smiles.

Next come a pair of little pants. They have a hole in the knee from when you fell on our walk. The scrape you got is already scabbing over, thanks to Mommy’s magic bandages and a kiss on your tear-tracked cheek. I carried you the rest of the way, even though my back was already aching – probably from all this laundry.

The pants will mend, so I set them aside to be patched up later.

It was an ordinary walk. Skinned knees happen sometimes, despite my best efforts. Luckily, you patch up easier than your pants. On today’s walk, along our same, ordinary route, you ran again -- fearless.

The average breastfed infant nurses 1098 hours in the first 6 months of life, and that’s a conservative estimate. That means I spent approximately 90 full day’s worth of hours rocking you at my breast, singing how many lullabies? I lost count. I’m embarrassed to say, sometimes it was exhausting, redundant...boring even. Up and down, back and forth, day and night.

Now I marvel that you’ll soon start preschool, that you walk and talk and feed yourself with ever -growing fingers, I think often of those midnight feeds -- the peace and comfort it gave you just to be close to me.

“Mommy! Come play blocks!” The laundry can wait, I suppose. After all, there will always be more…

By Sarah Brown on Unsplash

Well, I was right, wasn’t I? There is always more laundry, day after day, year after year.

Here I stand, trying to scrub grass stains out of your soccer uniform. You made that goal though – even in the rain!

As you stood up, beaming with pride and muddied from your slide, you searched me out in the crowd and pumped a fist in the air. I know how many hours you’ve spent practicing those moves – almost equal to the number of hours you spend describing them to me over and over, chattering on about Messi and Ronaldo, and asking me if I think your jumping height is above average as you leap into the air with gusto. If only I could bottle some of that energy!

Today you helped peel apricots for canning. You took the dogs for a walk on your own – pretty routine.

What else happened today?

Oh, your beloved basketball hoop blew over in that rainstorm and dented a little, but you didn’t cry. Instead, you examined it carefully and pronounced, “It’s not that bad. It’ll just help me improve my aim!” Then you knelt down and spent a while repairing the net by hand and re-attaching it. You didn’t ask me for help with it. Didn’t need to – you know what to do.

Has it already been ten years since that walk when you skinned your knee? How did they happen so fast? You must have skipped a few pages when I wasn’t looking – or maybe while I was folding all this laundry!

Somehow it passed by as mostly ordinary days -- and aren’t we glad that it did? Ordinary meant you were mostly healthy. It meant I was fairly capable, at least. Ordinary meant lots of story time hours and runs through the sprinkler and peanut butter sandwiches and casual but heartfelt, “G’night, I love you’s.”

Tonight as I put dinner leftovers into a container to be used tomorrow, you sidle up to me and, without a word, wrap your arms around me and squeeze. To my surprise, you hold on for a long time -- longer than ordinary. I can’t help noticing how close you are to outgrowing me, but I don’t say it.

You whisper, “Thanks, Mommy!”

“Thanks for what?”

“For everything. Today was a really good day.”

I smile. It really was. Nothing out of the ordinary, but very good. That's how it hits me for the millionth time that I would take the ordinary days over any other, as many as I can get with you before the house is quieter...

and there is a little less laundry...

and I find myself remembering them as the best days of our lives.

slam poetryperformance poetrylove poems
48

About the Creator

Holly Pheni

This page is for dreamchasing, adventure, and catharsis. Hope my musings connect with others out there.

Blog: flyingelephantmom.com

Creators I'm Loving:

Gina Jori Heather Dharrsheena Tiffany Babs

Cathy Misty Caroline Rick Mike Lonzo Scott

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (35)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer2 months ago

    😭😭😭😭 Gorgeous, Holly! The days are long, but the years are so short ❤️

  • Hannah Moore9 months ago

    Since my kids were born, I've often commented how these days, I aspire to ordinary. Thank you for sharing.

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Kids getting older is so bittersweet! My kiddo is in kindergarten, and I'm not ready 😩

  • It's crazy how fast time flies especially when we're busy with mundane things like laundry. This made me so emotional! Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    It is hard to describe how good this is. It is much more than just a Top Story. This is art at it's finest. I just love this so much.

  • MANOJ K 9 months ago

    Wow super keep writing awesome buddy visit my posts and subscribe mine too thank you have a nice day 😊

  • Gina C.9 months ago

    Holly, this absolutely took my breath away! So sweet and sentimental. Amazing job; congrats on Top Story!!

  • Margaret Brennan9 months ago

    love this, always makes me look and and remember when my sons were little. they're grown now, with grown children of their own. so sad that time goes by so quickly.

  • Raihana H.9 months ago

    Aww I feel like crying. How time flies! Very heartwarming! Keep it up!

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    A work of art, Holly. Congratulatoins!

  • C. H. Richard9 months ago

    Love this ❤️ Such a beautiful poem/essay about the love for your son. Many hearts ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️ and congratulations on Top story!

  • Amjad Ateih Dib9 months ago

    Well done sister keep going

  • Emma Kate Coleman9 months ago

    This is beautiful, Holly! It's raw and honest and sweet. :)

  • Lealyn Cruda9 months ago

    Pretty Story

  • Melissa Ingoldsby9 months ago

    Excellent work here! Beautiful and relatable

  • ❤️🎉 Congratulations on your Top Story! I love how you use the different stains as a way to tell stories of your kid growing up. What a poetic way of talking about your child. I hope you never lose out on the ordinary days with them.

  • I so resonanted with so many aspects you share in your poem. The joys of being a mother. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Yaayy, 🎉💖😊Congratulations on your Wonderful Top Story❗❗ 🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Congrats on the TS

  • Oneg In The Arctic9 months ago

    This is so darn sweet and beautiful! <3

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    I love this🥰💓Very heart warming…. Children make it worth it all

  • Veronica Coldiron9 months ago

    This was SO touching!!

  • Dana Stewart9 months ago

    Holly, this is precious! A mother’s love and laundry can wait.

  • They really are the best--& memories to be treasured forever.

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Ordinary days are the best!!! Love your memories and story!!! Loving it!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.