Poets logo

Don't Look, Mom!

Even good boys have "ruff" days!

By Holly PheniPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
15
Don't Look, Mom!
Photo by Daniël Maas on Unsplash

Don’t look there, and don’t look now!

Imagine things are fine, somehow.

Sit down and let me warm your feet!

Tell me, was your day complete?

Read in my eyes how much I adore you,

Avoid the kitchen, I implore you!

Cream and oil were my bath,

Tasting sugar made me laugh!

In my fluff I rolled the flour!

Oh, the honey took an hour!

Never knew the sticky joy – but will you still call me “good boy?”

humor
15

About the Creator

Holly Pheni

This page is for dreamchasing, adventure, and catharsis. Hope my musings connect with others out there.

Blog: flyingelephantmom.com

Creators I'm Loving:

Gina Jori Heather Dharrsheena Tiffany Babs

Cathy Misty Caroline Rick Mike Lonzo Scott

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Test7 months ago

    Beautifully written and inspiring!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Stephanie Hoogstad7 months ago

    This is such an adorable poem! It really captures the way in which dogs try to make us forget just how rotten they can be sometimes by being ultra cute afterwards. ❤️🐶

  • Too cute!!! I love it!!! Very well done!!!

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Supercute! Well done Holly! 😊

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    Aw, such a sweet poem, Holly! I'm not sure how I missed this! 🤗❤️

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    This is absolutely adorable!!🥰🤣 I loved your rhymes too, it really worked for the puppy’s voice!

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    Haha, this was so cute! Love your choices for rhymes and the images were so adorable.

  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    Oh this was lovely! ♥️

  • ❤️❤️AWESOME 🐕✨❗❗❗

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Love this!!! Delightfully written!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Eventually, I'm sure I will. But for the moment.... Absolutely delightful!

  • Harmony Kent11 months ago

    Fantastically funny and adorable! I love this, Holly 💕🙂

  • Awww, my first thought was, "You'll always be a good boy!" Loved your poem!

  • Ruth Stewart11 months ago

    This is great! I hope it places! I love dog poems. If I could I'd show you our 7 puppies.

  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    I enjoyed this adorable poem 🥰💓

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    Hey Vocal, thanks to Holly we’re gonna need a “Reread” button to save all our favorites please!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.