Poets logo

o f f e r i n g

frost | a love story

By Kristen BalyeatPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
12
o f f e r i n g
Photo by Dmitry Grigoriev on Unsplash

cool breezes stream through silvery skies

darkness trickles across the land

what was once engulfed in sunlight

now held in night’s starlit hands

offerings of moonlit air

swathe flora in a frosted glaze

bouquets of shimmering gifts for the dawn

soon gathered by its warm embrace

*******************

Written for the Smooth Challenge. Enamored by the seamless process of night air vapors transforming into frost, glittering in the light of the sunrise until it's evaporated once again.

I wrote this as an extension of my haiku, Frost:

nature poetrylove poems
12

About the Creator

Kristen Balyeat

Words fly to me on the wind, bump into me as I'm strolling the city, splash me in the face while I rest by the river, and shake me awake in the middle of the night– I’m humbly one of the many vessels they use to come to life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer5 months ago

    I really like the author's insights you've put at the end. If a better description of water vapor turning into frost is out there I don't believe it exists

  • MeriaNana6 months ago

    Impressive

  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    This is Beautiful!

  • This was sooooo magical and mesmerising! Gosh it's just so magnificent!

  • Beautifully written and great entry for the challenge!

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Wonderful! Superb use of human characteristics.. I forget the term for that this minute! ☺️ Excellent work Kristen! ✨

  • Love the frost. One year in Watertown, SD we were so disappointed as there was no snow for Christmas. There was, however, a heavy fog, that left a thick layer of frost on everything that was fantastically beautiful. As the sun came out, just as we were leaving church, the frost began to fall from the trees creating a wonderful little snowfall for us.

  • Sara Wilson6 months ago

    So beautiful. I love this ❣️

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Simply beautiful. And now I'm gonna take a hike over to the haiku.

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    What a lovely take on the challenge

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    Just sheer magic. You've done it again, Kristen. This is beautiful. Really, really beautiful amd love the lines "what was once engulfed in sunlight now held in night’s starlit hands" and "swathe flora in a frosted glaze bouquets of shimmering gifts for the dawn soon gathered by its warm embrace"

  • Mohammed Darasi6 months ago

    This was beautiful Kristen 😊. The flow had kind of an ethereal feeling when I read it... Very nice

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.