Poets logo

f r e e f a l l

*

By Kristen BalyeatPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - November 2023
24
f r e e f a l l
Photo by Pawel Czerwinski on Unsplash

S t o r i e s

buried, decaying

in cranial folds—festering

rotted memories chiseling away at

cavernous voids. Coils of pain

spinning in the chasm

of darkness,

w h i p p e d

around like glass shards

in violent tornadic

w i n d s.

Micro

glimpses

of light

snuffed out by

an endless frigid winter.

Metallic sheets of reflection deflecting

reality. Chasing temporary

relief, numbness

calms the

s t o r m,

quieting

the

past,

if

only

for

a

m o m e n t.

No

thought.

No

pain.

Brief.

Temporary

hush

s t a g g e r s

away

dissolving

the escape. Gaping

endless spaces widen where

warmth does not exist, lurching back into

the harsh continuance of existence.

Slowly, the cycles of destruction

engraved by reels of

m e m o r i e s—

repertoires

dished up by

patterns of pain begin

their whisper, quickly rising decibels

of torment. Deafening

recollections

re-build

as the

seconds pass.

Each tick of the clock an

eternity, evoking the craving for another

sledgehammer. Inner voices

howl, reverberating off

the cold skeletal

walls—

resonating up the vertical

exposures of mental cliffs. Jagged

edges, ripping to shreds in

a never-ending

free fall.

No

b o t t o m.

No swift death. Just

thrashing into the void. Gravity

sucking into the endless

black hole. Withering

away moment

by moment

into

the

cold

desolate

night

of

the

mind.

x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x x

*******************************************************

I can't force you to

open the parachute

I harnessed around you—

only you can choose

to pull the ripcord. I will

quietly sit here in your

rifts—reaching my

arms out to you,

waiting for you to

reach back. I will

pour out my tears

gathering waters of

my eyes into a gentle

lake, a calm place for

you to float. I will shower

you with petals, drenching

you with the softness of life,

trusting you'll see the small

gifts of beauty. Hoping you

understand the seed that

goes into the darkness

always breaks before it

blooms. I hope the words

uttered from my lips make

their way past the boulders

of protection you've fashioned

around you, to swirl through the

cracks and sing sweetly to your soul.

I wish them to be a healing spark to

burn away your armored shell—

seeping into desolate caves of

your mind, offering you

fire-light, hopeful it

doesn't extinguish

in your internal

torrential

rain.

_________________________________________

It's always the right time to check in with a friend to ask how they're really doing, to tell them that you love them, and to let them know they have someone in their corner. A little love and kindness could make all the difference.

If you or someone you love is going through a mental health crisis or drug abuse issue, searching for help can be difficult, and it can be hard to know where to start. Here are a couple of places to look for information and help:

Additional research that may be helpful for some:

CONTENT WARNINGsad poetryheartbreak
24

About the Creator

Kristen Balyeat

Words fly to me on the wind, bump into me as I'm strolling the city, splash me in the face while I rest by the river, and shake me awake in the middle of the night– I’m humbly one of the many vessels they use to come to life.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    Kristen, this work of yours really brought home the story of my son's addiction and how much I want for his soul to heal. It's like you looked into our pain. A mother forgets that there are others universally going through the same plight. I empathize with them, as well. Thank you for this.

  • Dana Crandell6 months ago

    Oh, so well said, dear friend! One of the best Top Stories of the year. Congratulations, Kristen!

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Hooray! I was hoping this would be up there soon! It’s so very good and important. Congrats on your top story Kristen! ☺️👏🎉🎉

  • Candace 6 months ago

    Wow this is incredible and raw.. so relatable and full of emotion and feeling. You are a seriously talented writer, able to capture the readers attention! Congrats on this

  • Carol6 months ago

    Incredible journey through pain and hopelessness to RESCUE, GRACE, MERCY, REDEMPTION!! INSPIRATION through deep despair and faith to reach the light of HOPE!!! Love your thoughts, words and the way you put your emotions before us to touch our souls!! TS!!! For sure!

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    Kristen...Kristen...Kristen...pal. You are an artiste. see, said it all fancy like...cos I'm a bit teary eyed and been put through a ringer by your wonderful words. This is outstanding...my new favourite by you and one of the best things I've read on here. Seriously. Just important, but not preachy. Kind...and just stnning, sublime and yeah. Well done on a fucking awesome and important Top Story! Love it!

  • Margaret Brennan6 months ago

    beautiful. This is exactly why I keep in touch with friends and family whom I don't get to see regularly. phone calls and email are always a good way to let them know I care.

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    There's that incredibly well-deserved TS. Congrats, my friend.

  • Donna Renee6 months ago

    ❤️❤️❤️ this is raw and beautiful

  • JBaz6 months ago

    Holy… so damn powerful, so open and honest. If people don’t feel when they read this, then they are numb. Wonderful

  • This hit me so hard especially the second half. I'm a suicide survivor and it's not something I'm proud of. So you can see that I'm still mentally not okay. Your poem was very powerful!

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    This was intense! Particularly the first part! So much going on there! The second part was refreshing and both made an impact. It’s always important to get these kind of msgs out there Kristen! ☺️

  • Zara Blume6 months ago

    I love that there seems to be two narrators within this poem. The first part I couldn’t relate to, but it was so well written that I kept reading. Then the second part blew my mind. It was so beautiful. ‘I can't force you to open the parachute I harnessed around you— only you can choose to pull the ripcord.’ These words are important for everyone to read who has lost someone to suicide or drug overdose. It’s so natural to feel guilt about all the ways you couldn’t be there, even if you were there as much as possible. Thank you for this.🤍

  • When the only armor that remains are those things which have fallen into all that is left unspoken, what healing is there to be had? And when the healing balm that is required is never offered, what hope does one have to avail for themselves?

  • Nice, I Like Your Formations♥️💯📝😉✌️

  • Teresa Renton6 months ago

    The second half was spectacular in the images you created and their symbolism. Well done. I don't know the source of this inspired poem, but hope you are ok xx

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    Oh my, that second half was such a balsam to the first.

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Oh. My. God. I don't know what to say. This is one of the best things I've read, ever! Wow.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.