Poets logo

Not a Cinderella Story

A poem about "love".

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 10 months ago β€’ Updated 10 months ago β€’ 1 min read
21
Not a Cinderella Story
Photo by Jared Subia on Unsplash

So this is love...

I'm now his,

body and soul...

But not what I want...

I have no vote,

I have no say.

I'm a gift,

or so they say...

-----------------

You were not my pick,

but my dad and mom's.

They gave me away...

A gift to say thnx,

for what you have done.

You save the town,

from the evil ogre...

They gave you my hand

and you know I don't want you.

I pray you say no for my sake,

but you don't...

--------------------------

My body is now his,

my mind is now his,

I am only his from now on.

I said the vows,

but they were fake.

This is my duty,

as I was born into.

I will do as I must

for the town I love...

'Till end of life...

It can't come too soon...

So this is love...

social commentarysad poetrylove poemsheartbreakfact or fiction
21

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! πŸ’šπŸ’™πŸ’œπŸ©΅

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Jollyoddbod Poetry5 months ago

    So this is love.... Wow, such a heartbreaking and deep poem. Loved it!

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    Lovely sad poem Donna. I think it still happens in some places. But, we can still hope for a better world for everyone. Blessings. Back to school is fast approaching. Hope you ae ready to return.

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Wow. That's powerful, and so sad. Well done.

  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    OOF that hit! An excellently written poem with a great emotional impact! I really like how you took the prompt and spun it into what (unfortunately) many women of the past experienced. While I know this is fiction (courtesy of the ogre!), it rings so true for those difficult situations! It was heart-wrenching to read about this poor woman's trapping and her subsequent depression. Well Done Donna - You really made me feel every word!

  • Emma Kate Coleman10 months ago

    Wow. I HEARD that first line. What a way to get a reader’s attention! πŸ˜„πŸ‘

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    I admire your take on the prompt, both in bringing in the legendary element, and in rendering the suffering of a non-consensual bond. This is really powerful.

  • Honor Honziali10 months ago

    I am going through the poems for the contest and wow, I liked this so much. I love your different approach to what love is in different situations. This was so good!

  • This was soooo devastating! I hope there's a part 2 to this poem where she kills him and escapes to find her true love! I also love how your opening and ending line is the song from Cinderella!

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    Such a depressing take on Cinderella! But you manage to convey those sad elements so well here, and I feel the depression as though it is tangible, in my presence as I read. I feel so bad for her! My optimism hopes there can be redemption in her future, that perhaps he didn't say no because he recognized he could love her.

  • Mark Gagnon10 months ago

    I don’t imagine most women in this part of the world would tolerate this anymore but it still exists in other cultures. What made you think of this subject?

  • Cezanne Libellen10 months ago

    Oh, that is not a Cinderella Story indeed!! I'm glad women are not married off for political advantages anymore!!

  • Deep πŸ˜‰β€οΈπŸ“πŸ’―β—

  • Test10 months ago

    Fantastic, tragic and creative storyline!! Is this for the 4 letter word challenge? If so there is a 5 letter word which has slipped in 'thing'. Keep doing amazing work

  • J. S. Wade10 months ago

    Wow. Powerful … tragic…. πŸ’œ

  • Alexandria Stanwyck10 months ago

    I love the twist to a story we know so well. Plus you cleverly made sure you could fit all the words in the four letter requirement for the challenge. That has been the most difficult part, but it does make you stop and think about how you want to word things.

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    Wow!!! 🀯. This was such a statement and an amazing poem too. I also loved how you got β€œthnx” to fit the requirements!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.