Poets logo

Never too late

to start again

By Heather HublerPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2022
36
Made with CanvaPro

Lyrics are in the comments of the video for Rewrite Your Story performed by Kayley Bishop & Song House.

This song inspired my poetry. I hope you'll take a listen.

Where is the light when I'm at my darkest,

When the void of black consumes?

Silence crushing with the weight of

nothing passing through my lips.

When doubt caresses with phantom hands

calling me out by name.

My sins feel too heavy, unbearable,

the burden of them fused to my bones.

I'm a desolate soul unraveling,

my dreams pulled apart at the seams.

At my lowest, down in the deep,

I writhe in ebony gloom,

'til I'm tangled and frozen, immobile.

Only when I stop struggling and fighting myself

can I finally transform.

My heart, mind, and body feel a measure of lulling calm.

For a moment there's an absence of suffering.

I can breathe without the stench of self-doubt.

It's only a moment,

before the voices come calling,

but it's enough that I remember.

Each voice tries to push me back down

telling me I'm

not enough,

unworthy,

dirty,

unloved.

Those whispers echo and bounce

around the prison that's become my world.

But I ignore them as I spark and ignite,

dissolving into pillows of ash.

In the midst of the remnants of ugliness and shame,

I rise.

My phoenix wings pull me up,

burning away the chains of expectation

clinging to my parched skin.

The flames of truth clear

the dark veil from my eyes.

I am at my lowest,

But I am not the least.

I can be reborn.

I can try again.

My failures are not my worth.

My successes aren't either.

I'm a complicated creature

just asking for grace.

And if I find myself in that pit again,

I know that it's not over.

I'll rise up, dust off the ashes

and fly.

___________________________________________________

It's never too late to rewrite your story, to rise like a phoenix. I truly believe that. It's okay to mess up. It's okay to start over. It's okay to feel bone-deep tired. But please don't give up. Start a new chapter or rewrite an old one, dust off those ashes and take flight. Keep going. Keep trying. Because you're worth it.

Much love to you all.

inspirational
36

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock11 months ago

    Powerful song, poem of epic courage & strength, you are the phoenix, my friend. I trust you have risen more times than you can remember, & though I somehow sense you're not in the midst of that ebony black, when the darkness comes I have no doubt you will rise again.

  • Luke Fosterabout a year ago

    Incredibly inspirational. Wonderful words.

  • Seni Haksabout a year ago

    Yes I totally agree with your mindset!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Awesome💕💖😊

  • L. M. Veirsabout a year ago

    Loved this!

  • Moritz Bauerabout a year ago

    I was listening to the song while reading and could feel through the motions of this. It's the spark of hope and resistance that just comes through in the end! Love it. thanks for sharing

  • This comment has been deleted

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Maha Kadafourabout a year ago

    Beautiful and uplifting!

  • Kimabout a year ago

    Ooooh I looove the Phoenix reference! Rising from the ashes 🔥

  • Carol Townendabout a year ago

    I was in tears reading your poem and listening to the song as memories of therapy came to me. This is beautiful and encouraging for those in pain. This is a well-deserved top story.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Congratulations again on Top Story!! :) This one is so amazing. 🥰❤️

  • Manpreet Singh Bhinderabout a year ago

    Amazing!

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    A message definitely needed during this time of year when depression and hopelessness tends to be on the rise.

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Love the poem and the song. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Stunning. Brilliant!

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    Wow Heather. so lovely! Reminds me of CS Lewis quote, it's never too late to start over again. "'You can't go back and change the beginning, but you can start where you are and change the ending." :) :)

  • Congratulations on your top story

  • I loved the song but I loved your poem even more! That struggle to rise up from the lowest of places, that climb, it's everything. Beautifully written, magnificently uplifting! 💖

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Beautiful! Absolutely love how it ends victoriously ❤️ I super enjoyed the song and the entire execution is so uplifting! Well done! 😊❤️

  • J. Scott Tannerabout a year ago

    That was beautifully written Heather. Rise up.

  • Subhi Najarabout a year ago

    Wonderful words.....as usual

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    You are absolutely correct - there's always time to fly! This is so well-done - it's gorgeous and the message is beautiful. :)

  • Incredible words, I so relate to this as I am always here, a definite Top Story

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    gorgeously written & truly inspirational! I believe that this piece will touch alot of lives! BRAVO Heather BRAVO!!!! 👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.