Poets logo

Channeling

Musing on the writing process

By Suze KayPublished 12 days ago 1 min read
14

Often, I beg: Open me. Please.

Fill the wound with something I can use

Deliver me words like a sunbeam gilding dust.

//

The words come too much, not enough. I can't

pin beating wings to cardboard, or map the movement

of a firefly unless it's in a jar.

//

And so it's like, shut up. Adults are talking.

How will I ever know when I'm hearing it right

if I never listen?

//

They talk too much: be teachable, patient, pliant,

ready with my knife. When it hurts to hone

it's working.

//

The vase is only dangerous when it turns to narrow diffuse light.

The wound is still waiting to be heard.

Are you listening?

Stream of ConsciousnessFree Verse
14

About the Creator

Suze Kay

Pastry chef by day, insomniac writer by night.

Find here: stories that creep up on you, poems to stumble over, and the weird words I hold them in.

Or, let me catch you at www.suzekay.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 5 days ago

    'I can't pin beating wings to cardboard, or map the movement of a firefly unless it's in a jar.' Wow wow wow, those are perfect lines!!! "When it hurts to hone it's working." That is painfully accurate but wonderfully worded. Those last two lines especially are utterly breathtaking!

  • Crazy, I wrote something similar in my drafts on here last night about writing from the wound… and my subtitle was “some musings.” It wasn’t in poetic form though, just stream of consciousness. I had the idea to turn it into a poem later. But this just strengthens my belief that creative people are tapped into the same source.

  • John Cox12 days ago

    I agree with Hayley, that is an amazing line. But the final question is what got me. The implication that artists do not listen to their inner woundedness is deeply saddening

  • Gosh this was so freaking deep! Loved your poem so much!

  • Hayley Matto12 days ago

    Loved this Suze! You captured the tortured creative so well! My fav line was, "When it hurts to hone...it's working."

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.