Poets logo

Watching the Ground

A procrastinator's eclipse experience

By Suze KayPublished 14 days ago Updated 14 days ago 1 min read
12
The safer view: Cresecent shadows under trees

Even as I wish for paper glasses, I hedge. I

Could take it or

Leave it, I think. I can trust the moon to

Inch around again. It will

Pass, as all things do, and aren't the

Shadow minnows swimming under every tree

Enough?

Stream of ConsciousnessAcrostic
12

About the Creator

Suze Kay

Pastry chef by day, insomniac writer by night.

Find here: stories that creep up on you, poems to stumble over, and the weird words I hold them in.

Or, let me catch you at www.suzekay.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 4 days ago

    Beautiful beautiful beautiful!! I'd pick a favourite line but the entire thing is gorgeous in a way that belongs to your iconic writer's voice.

  • Joe O’Connor10 days ago

    I like how this viewpoint doesn’t sensationalise or dramatise the eclipse, but a sense of assurance is kept throughout. Shadow minnows is lovely imagery Suze!

  • Caroline Jane13 days ago

    This is excellent. "Shadow minnows" Splendid imagery! Fantastic.

  • Your photo and poem are both so absolutely gorgeous! 😍😍😍😍😍😍

  • Alivia Varvel14 days ago

    So beautiful! “It will pass, as all things do.” Such a lovely reminder.

  • angela hepworth14 days ago

    Wow stunning picture there and great poem!

  • Hannah Moore14 days ago

    What a photo! I've never seen these eclipse minows!

  • Dana Crandell14 days ago

    My thoughts exactly. I spent about 10 minutes observing it in the shadows of a colander and a cheese grater. lol I really enjoyed this one, Suze!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.