Poets logo

Never a Story of More Woe

A Valentines Inverse

By Hannah MoorePublished 3 months ago 1 min read
16

A peace this morning doth now bring.

Grace in hope will pardon some,

Her mantle, night doth from her fling,

In the East, where Juliet is the sun.

But soft, that wing'd light doth still break

Too make now a mockery of my heart

Is yet there breath for thee to take

Or miss in haste, keen to depart.

I stay my intent to see thee there,

Afore my everlasting rest,

I wonder, why thou art yet so fair

Can thou now be Heaven’s guest?

Wherefore must these eyes now look their last?

What crime then was here but love?

Without the tyranny of the past,

This union was blessed from above.

A dateless bargain, just as with death,

A righteous kiss did seal our fate

And suck’d the honey of thy breath,

The death in love that would not wait,

Now crimson tints thy lips, thy cheek,

To deify death’s paramour

Then being death I gladly seek,

These lips would now seal the door,

If this embrace is to be our last,

Here in this tomb I rest my woe.

Is now the die forever cast,

For my Juliet and her Romeo.

love poems
16

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Bonnie Bowerman2 months ago

    Beautifully written! I really enjoyed it! Shakespeare would like it too, I am sure!

  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    I’ve been teaching Romeo and Juliet to my 3rd formers this term, so this feels like a page straight outta the play! Love the perspective and the rephrasing of so many key lines and words 👏 Well done!

  • Dana Crandell3 months ago

    Elegantly written, as befits the theme and its characters. Excellent, Hannah!

  • I'm at a loss for words! How did you write this masterpiece! You blew my mind!

  • Foolish children, o'erpowered by love & desire believed to be lost, conspiring against one another to thwart each heart

  • ImperfectlyPerfect3 months ago

    I love it!! I love how this inverse challenge coincides with the celebration of Vday! I'm loving these stories!

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Shakespeare inverse rhyme. Now that takes talent. Well done!

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Ah, star cross'd lovers do become inverted. I like this. I was reading it and thinking, "Some of this is familiar..." Original take on the challenge.

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    Not to be rude but... how tf did you do this!! 😳😳😳👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏

  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    Fabulous poem!

  • JBaz3 months ago

    I like this Victorian feel to this. a challenge unto itself, and you succeeded .

  • John Cox3 months ago

    Hannah! You dare the bard and yet write with such sugared sweetness, that if your words were added to the play only the true Shakespearean might untangle your verses from his. Is this an inverse as well? Extraordinary.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.