Poets logo

Peace or War

An inverse poem

By Hannah MoorePublished 3 months ago 1 min read
22
Peace or War
Photo by Olha Kolesnyk on Unsplash

The smallest wave says all will be as it must.

A palm raised to the sky in trust,

Desert arid lives, quenched by this giving lake,

Where beasts and man for their own sake,

Take succour, time for contemplation,

Was here not a promise of salvation?

Do we not now have this right,

To live as we will, take as we might.

We are filled with always wanting,

Yearning, thirsting, our share allotting,

Trying always for one bit more

The appetites at our core.

The match between my needs and yours,

Teeth and nails, fangs or claws,

We all must strive to keep this well

As nature sounds her warning bell,

This font is there for us to use,

We all win, or we all lose.

nature poetrysocial commentary
22

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    “To live as we will, take as we might. We are filled with always wanting,” stood out to me. So true of humans, so much take and not a lot of give! I like the way this reads similarly, but the tone changes. Nice!

  • Jazzy 3 months ago

    I liked the flow of this so much! "To live as we will, take as we might." was my fav line

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    I really like this one. The differences are small, but feels like a greedy fight going forward and a resignation of what will be will be the other way. Not sure if that's where you were going, but it's what I got. Great job.

  • Wow Hannah you really did well with this one

  • Brin J.3 months ago

    Holy shit. This was the best inverse poem I've read. Powerful in both directions.

  • D.K. Shepard3 months ago

    I really admire how you demonstrated your ability to adhere to a rhyme scheme in an inverse! The title was well chosen, I think it encapsulates the flipped tones really well.

  • John Cox3 months ago

    Lovely, subtle inverse poem!

  • J3 months ago

    Brilliant both ways

  • Paul Stewart3 months ago

    This is great. there is a difference in both readings...slight but in a good way. I've enjoyed and not enjoyed this challenge as much as I thought I might. I usually like the tricky poems stuff...but...yeah. I've found that I either end up making it too sharp either way or it's not different enough lol. This was fantastic and I love your use of words in this one, Hannah!

  • Teresa Renton3 months ago

    Well done Hannah. Lovely subtlety in your poem 🥰

  • So intense and worked so well both ways! You nailed this!

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Subtle.

  • JBaz3 months ago

    I really like that there is a diference forward and back. A sublte little adjustment.

  • Joe Patterson3 months ago

    Great entry.

  • Excellent poem, either way you read it.

  • Gerard DiLeo3 months ago

    Very interesting 2-way traffic here.

  • Mackenzie Davis3 months ago

    Ooh, this is very good. The subtle difference in the readings, one of uncertainty and perhaps dread, the second peaceful, and letting nature take its course. Superb!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.