Poets logo

Religion and politics

An FINAL abedecarian

By Hannah MoorePublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
Religion and politics
Photo by David Clode on Unsplash

Actually

Bugger this,

Call me absurd,

Devil’s advocate, just contrary

Even a sulky old fart.

For I refuse to play ball

Grumpy crossed arms and all,

Huffy, bitter of heart.

I

Jest not,

Keep your thoughts,

Let me have mine,

Maybe you think me daft.

Not every thing’s about you

Opine all you want to

Polemics aren’t your craft.

Quiet,

Respect peace,

Silence is golder

Than your endless twitter,

Utter less, I’m pleading now.

Voicing each thought in your mind

Won’t help you be kind.

Xenophilia avoids a row.

You know I’m wrong, and I know I’m right,

Zip it, if you even know how.

*

Authors note: The views contained in this Abecedarian do not represent those of the author or the publishing platform.

For Fun

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (18)

  • E.K. Daniels5 months ago

    Haha I love a good chuckle. This gave me “not in my back yard vibes”.

  • I'll try.

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    I approve this message!

  • Phil Flannery5 months ago

    Well this started some conversations. Church and state, an ongoing issue. Great poem.

  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    Well done!!

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    Take a round of applause. This was unhinged and bloody marvellous, Ms Moore! For your Last entry...it's a good one. Also...thank you for the eye twitch in your subtitle...which I assume is deliberate? :)

  • Rachel Deeming5 months ago

    Some people just need to shut up. I get that. My husband says "Opinions are like arseholes: everyone's got one" and it's an appropriate analogy as both of them have strong associations with a lot of hot air.

  • Oooo, polemics! That's a new word for me! Your Abecedarian, you knocked it out of the park! So freaking brilliant!

  • Kenny Penn5 months ago

    I Love this poem!!! “Silence is golder than your endless twitter”. Yaaaaas! 💪🏼 Even if it’s not your opinion I still loved it lol

  • John Cox5 months ago

    Delightful! I especially loved 'bugger this' and 'sulky old fart!' Also, it made me look up xenophilia, so I learned something too.

  • the tone of this was outstanding. You really did well with this one

  • Caroline Craven5 months ago

    Ha! This was brill! Great writing.

  • Since everyone else has touched on this line: "You know I’m wrong, and I know I’m right" is such a truism in almost every conversation. It's an interesting theory to wrap your head around.

  • Wow! So much fun to read. Yep, “ You know I’m wrong, and I know I’m right, Zip it, if you even know how.” Sounds like my bossy elder bro and me!!😵‍💫🤣

  • JBaz5 months ago

    ' You know I’m wrong, and I know I’m right,' This is a perfect line....I really enjoyed where you took this. (Should I say congratulations now for TS?)

  • Thavien Yliaster5 months ago

    "You know I’m wrong, and I know I’m right," - I thought that line would read "You know you're wrong, and I know I’m right." Call me perplexed. Polemics, huh, I learned a new word. It is weird when there's a separation of the church and government, but the church and government are still heavily intertwined, sometimes for negative reasons. This also reminds me that some people speak so much that they can't hear themselves think.

  • D. J. Reddall5 months ago

    So much tweeting and so little music.

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Two subjects to avoid. Well done.

Hannah MooreWritten by Hannah Moore

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.