Poets logo

Wonka: A Senryu Review

For Matthew Fromm's Senryu Critique

By Hannah MoorePublished 3 months ago 1 min read
17
Wonka: A Senryu Review
Photo by AJ on Unsplash

Sumptuous frilled treat.

Suspension of disbelief

Stretched, but willingly.

wwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

For Matthew's Senryu Critique challenge, below, because there is always time for a quick senryu, right?

Though less time, of course, for accompanying lower word limit waffle. I could moan about having too much to do, which is of course on my mind, or I could offer a nod to the oncoming spring. Or I could just go for a second Senryu, two in one. OK, lets do that. This one is called Faraway Downs, which I watched in a day when I was poorly and lain out in my bed before Christmas. Its not that I didnt enjoy Australia to an extent, and the photography is delightful, but I'd have been peeved to dedicate four or five hours to it if I hadnt been feeling too rubbish to enjoy much.

Lockdown re-jigs dont

Throw good money after bad,

But time is precious

Senryu
17

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    I avoided this one for a while, because I haven't seen the film yet and I was nervous of spoilers 😄

  • Kendall Defoe 3 months ago

    Not bad, but I prefer the second one... ;)

  • I was today years old when I knew there's a movie called Wonka, lol! I've only watched Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Never watched Farawat Downs either 😅 But I loved your Senryus!

  • Until we eat something we shouldn't, then it's off to the pressing room.

  • Kenny Penn3 months ago

    Nice Senryu's, Hannah. I loved Wonka, but I've never seen Faraway Downs. Sounds like maybe that's a good thing. LOL, if I interpreted your words correctly.

  • Toby Heward3 months ago

    Very nice piece

  • John Cox3 months ago

    These are both lovely, Hannah. Time is precious!

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    Sounds Wonks. did not see it. I am missing the prompts. I read some of your holiday stories.

  • Paul Stewart3 months ago

    Great stuff! Still haven't seen Wonka. We were supposed to go the cinema...but didn't in the end! Oh well! Great senryu, Ms Moore!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.