Poets logo

My Stress

A poem of bottled up feelings

By Elizabeth PerksPublished 3 years ago 1 min read

I miss the days when I didn’t feel stressed about every little thing.

The days I wouldn't rethink that conversation,

the way I phrased that email, or how I approached a tense situation.

I miss the days that out of nowhere a single word wouldn’t initiate a flight or fight response in my gut;

one that makes me wish the whole word would swallow me alive or stand still enough for me to scream.

One little thing, and I’ll hold onto it for days.

Bubble, bubble, toil, and crumble goes my soul, down and down, spiralling while thinking, feelings I’d rather not.

I miss the days when I didn’t feel stressed about every little thing.

And the days I’m not consumed by my anxieties,

I’m on edge that I will say or do something that will cause the next three days of stress.

But I breathe, even when it feels like I can't. Because I’m learning. I’m learning I can’t hang onto the words of the past because that’s hurting my presence.

I miss the days when I didn’t feel stressed about every little thing.

I’m learning not to be stressed about every little thing. And one day I hope – I’m working to – not be stressed about the little things.

performance poetry

About the Creator

Elizabeth Perks

A handful of words written by me in an attempt to better my work.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Elizabeth PerksWritten by Elizabeth Perks

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.