Poets logo

Done with Love

Change the conversation

By Elizabeth PerksPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Done with Love
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

I said I’m done with Love.

The Romantics, with their

Wide-eyed, warm-glowing, universe aligning views

The Poets, and all their

God-forsaken, heart-reeling, soul-piercing sonnets

The Rom-coms, with all their

Meet-cute, friends-to-lovers, fake relationship situations

To only name a few.

I said I’m done with Love.

It’s everywhere and its suffocating, like smoke

From a pyroclastic flow

Devouring all in its path, ingulfing us and burning

In our lungs from the inside out, I feel

Overwhelmed by the acceptance that I see

For romantic endeavours.

I said I’m done with Love.

My heart is dormant, permanently,

No, please don’t confuse it for being in hibernation.

I said I’m done with Love.

Let us change the conversation.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Elizabeth Perks

A handful of words written by me in an attempt to better my work.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Elizabeth PerksWritten by Elizabeth Perks

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.