Poets logo

My Heart Bleeds For My Beloved Beets

In defense of “zombie dumps”

By Donna ReneePublished 10 months ago 2 min read
25
My Heart Bleeds For My Beloved Beets
Photo by Emad Kolahi on Unsplash

***When Paul Stewart challenged me to write about my hatred of marshmallows it seemed like a great idea! After that, we challenged the entire Vocal community to play along and many of you did... we were rolling in laughter and it all seemed like good fun! But then the inevitable happened… two people (people I even considered friends!) had the audacity to write scathing takedowns of my favorite food. And I am NOT GOING TO BE ABLE TO JUST LET IT GO! 🤣

So here is my Abecedarian rebuttal…

BEETS by Donna Renee (not Dre)

An amazing food

Beautiful in color

Crunchy and

Deliciously

Earthy!

Fantastically

Good for you

High

In

Just about every vitamin and mineral

Kills me that not everyone

Loves you but

Mostly, I can’t believe that

No one has sprung to your defense yet!

Obviously,

People can have their preferences…but

Quit ragging on my beets!

Respectfully,

Stuff it about my beets!

Tears filled my eyes when I read your

Unfiltered opinions of the glorious beet

Verily, (J.S. Wade and Kendall Defoe) I say unto you

What is WRONG with your tastebuds?

X-ray your esophagi, something is off!

Yearning now fills my stomach and soul, so...

“Zombie dumps” please! And some extra for my friends on the side!

~

~

~

and here is a bonus Haiku

versatile root veg

juicy, crunchy, bloody beet

favorite dinner plan

~

~

~

~

Here, have a limerick too!

Roast, pickle, boil, or juice

Dye your clothes or some Easter eggs too!

While you'd rather eat dirt

(Yes, my feelings were hurt)

There is nothing a beet cannot do!

Here are the hilarious beet takedowns from my friends, they may have a point...

Did someone attack your favorite food? You don't have to sit there in silence. Just look at Paul's excellent (and somehow still completely revolting) defense of Cottage Cheese! I'm with Kristen Balyeat all the way on this one!

listperformance poetryheartbreak
25

About the Creator

Donna Renee

Hi! Thanks for reading! My hobbies include making coffee, drinking coffee, and starting to write a story and then rage-deleting it when I get the slightest bit frustrated.

Work in Progress: WOWH, cozy mystery (paranormal elements)

INSTAGRAM

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    Omg, there were so many that I didn’t read them all..such an amusing time. I did though just comment on Paul’s almond milk “take down” the other day..and told him I read it ages ago but refused to heart it as I actually like almond milk! Anyway moving on…😅 I’m glad things got heated on your end too about the beets.. as I too like these but only in salads. I cracked up 🤣 when I got to the end of your piece and there was a bonus haiku and limerick. So funny. Great job.

  • Ahna Lewis8 months ago

    This was so fun! And quite impressive with multiple genres--abecedarian, haiku, limerick, etc. I'm definitely a defender of the beets here too!

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    This challenge was one of the first things I saw on Vocal, and it was so fun! I am so glad this was created!

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    LOL! 😂 Fantasically fun!

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    I love beets and your rebuttal. Very clever and funny! I appreciate that you included their earthy flavor as a positive thing, because that’s what people try to use against beets. And now I’m hungry. 😊

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER10 months ago

    Laughing... Great job! 😂🏆😂

  • Ian Read10 months ago

    I don't care what people say, beets are good, pickled great, a fine borscht I do appreciate.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Donna this was so great!!! I was laughing outlaid from the line “Beet by Donna Renee (not Dre)” 🤣 But of course I couldn’t not read the Abecedarian poem in rap form. Lol I loved the limerick and haiku, you really went to town in your defence of beets and I applaud you! Such a great collection and I love the passion that came through in every word! Amazing work as always my dear Donna! 💜 Thanks for beet-ing up the beet haters! 😜

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    I don't know what's got into you lately, Donna, my friend, but I'm loving it! Like..an Abecedarian, Haiku and Limerick...you absolutely crushed this. I love your takes because joking aside, your cleverness and wittiness shines through. Well done and I look forward to this getting Top Story. If it doesn't, someone needs to have a word in Justin's ear.

  • Whoaaaa, an Abecedarian, a Haiku and a Limerick? I can see how much you love beets, lol! I neither love nor hate beets. It's neutral for me. But I prefer them cooked with spices and stuff rather than raw. I'm not a salad person, lol.

  • And I'm with you all the way on this one, Donna! They're made of sugar! They're healthy candy!

  • Jay Kantor10 months ago

    Good God Ms. Donna; aka Marshmallow 'Sticky fingers' I could hardly get by your opening heading to read your rant As a Veg-e-Tarian I even grow beets in my garden and pass them out to anxious neighbors; Pro Bono. Thank you for your help about me placing in the 'History' section - I OU-1  Hi L-Bud - Such a Wuss - J-Bud

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    I would rather eat beets than drink beet juice for sure 🤮. That’s where I get lost. It’s like drinking bad breath with a hint of rust and seaweed, lol. Nice rebuttal.

  • Mark Gagnon10 months ago

    Although I wrote about fish, I have to join the anti-beet brigade. Sorry, Donna but my heart doesn't bleed for beets.👎🤮

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    Loved the clapback poem, beets are ok. They've never made me vomit just looking at them. That limerick is 🔥- I had mine moved to drafts to change that disgusting photo I used - and opps, deleted the text. I can remember some of it but not the middle. 🤦🏻‍♀️

  • Mohammed Darasi10 months ago

    That's a funny poem 🤣 (BEETS by Donna Renee (not Dre) was funny 🤣).. I like beets aswell actually, they're not particularly flavourful (depends on how it's clocked I guess) but they're weirdly nice to eat (I usually just make a little salad with them)

  • Leslie Writes10 months ago

    My favorite line - "X-ray your esophagi" LOL I don't mind beets. They are not my favorite, but I like them okay. That is how I feel about many of the foods mentioned, but unfortunately, I cant write an story about my ambivalence..or maybe I can. Maybe that is my challenge here. Anyway, what I came here to say is I love your take on beets! Well done, my friend!

  • Cezanne Libellen10 months ago

    Ooo, are you starting another challenge with this type of poem? That is a really good idea!!

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Haha. You tell 'em. I got your back, my dear friend in beet.

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    Oh, dear. You wanna poke a bear? Okay... Await my response... 🫡

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.