Poets logo

Gone.

For the Short and Sweet Challenge

By Donna ReneePublished 10 months ago 1 min read
24
Gone.
Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

Back then?

We were "us"

Life was good

Love was real

I felt warm... I was safe.

You were mine

And now?

We are "free"

Life is over

Love is dead

I feel cold... I am lost.

And you?

You are gone.

Long gone.

love poemsheartbreak
24

About the Creator

Donna Renee

Hi! Thanks for reading! My hobbies include making coffee, drinking coffee, and starting to write a story and then rage-deleting it when I get the slightest bit frustrated.

Work in Progress: WOWH, cozy mystery (paranormal elements)

INSTAGRAM

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 7 months ago

    This is gorgeous and I'm also here to confess I somehow wasn't subscribed to you?! I really thought I was so, sorry about that😂

  • Ahna Lewis8 months ago

    Seemingly simple, but carries such weight. I'm really impressed with how well this was expressed. Those last three lines especially! ❤️

  • Jay Kantor8 months ago

    Dear Ms. Donna - I so miss you since you've been "Gone" from our little village - I've always followed you and your  helpful interactions within the Vocal Community. I've stood back a little as well - I don't seem to fit into the 'Creative' Writers new way to Write - With my Respect Jay Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

  • Kristen Balyeat9 months ago

    Absolutely heartbreaking. You managed to well up an ocean of emotions here! Beautiful job absolutely conquering the restrictions of the challenge!

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    I shall not mumble and steal everything everyone said below because, they are all right! I will just say this, damn you again for getting me in the feels, Donna! Exceptional work!

  • Oh this grabbed me. Immediately took me back to every break up I ever had

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Donna, this was such a heart breaking poem about love and the loss of it! It felt emotional and gripping in such a melancholic way. Breath taking and relatable! So well written, Donna! 💜

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    So sad, and yet so beautiful.

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    This evokes such pain. "And now? We are 'free'" I caught that sarcasm. Well done!

  • I am lost. You are gone. Long gone. 😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭 You wrote the words of my heart! I deeply resonated with your poem!

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Heartbreaking love poem!!! Hugs & hearts!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Caroline Craven10 months ago

    Definitely felt this one. Great work Donna.

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    Ouch. Love hurts.

  • Test10 months ago

    OH, so sad and poignantly written 💙Anneliese

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    Well done, so sad but beautifully written.

  • Mohammed Darasi10 months ago

    Great poem Donna. I guess that's just part of going through life

  • Diani Alvarenga10 months ago

    People come and go!! Great poem!

  • That hurt to my toes

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.