Poets logo

My childhood is dying...

a lament and a plea

By Heather HublerPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - October 2023
48
Created with NightCafeStudio and CanvaPro

/

My childhood is dying

I see it on the news

My youthful memories fading

Feels like a spreading bruise

Each death like a nasty sucker punch

Each landmark closed deals pain

My heart feels heavy, my mind a fog

A soul-deep, never-ending strain

Does anyone remember when?

Do new generations even care?

Who wants to reminisce with me

When life isn't playing fair?

Let's blast some Petty, Prince and Turner

Binge episodes of Friends and M*A*S*H

It always feels like a coming home, a comfort

To revel in those glory days gone past

I want to stroll through Kiddie City

Have my frown turned upside down

Spend a Friday night at a roller rink

Sporting Jordache jeans, skating 'round

We can revel in Three's Company

Watch the latest from Night Court

Beg for Calgon to 'take us away'

Before the latest news report

Instead we wake to 'in memoriam'

Or reports of 'closing soon'

I try to plug the pieces of my soul

Sliced away by the gloom and doom

Maybe if you come and join me

In remembering them all

It would be a start to healing

With a step that starts so small

But grows and grows til new memories

Are made, while sharing those held dear

A fresh set of moments to reflect on

That get us through the waning years

So take my hand and let's settle in to

Watch the brilliance of The Golden Girls

Close our eyes and sway to Olivia's smooth croon

And let the beauty of yesteryear unfurl

Reflect on those Afterschool Specials

That taught us hard lessons, helped us grow

Share the past several decades of culture

With our children so they'll have no doubt, they'll know

That the future is important

The present vital too

Yet we can't forget what came before

It shapes us all–including me and you

____________________________________________________

Thank you for reading! Just feeling sad with so many favorite artists passing away or seeing reminders online of things I used to love experiencing, shows, songs, stores, etc.

social commentarysad poetryheartbreak
48

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (38)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor5 months ago

    Dear Heather; aka~'h'  -  I miss your brilliant wit so much; and of course sarcasm. I know you said you're working on so many projects. But, I always look forward to you bringing smiles to me and all of your Village Mates. But I want to take a moment to tell you how much I've enjoyed reading ALL of your presentations this year; really learn a lot from you. You even helped to inspire me to write the little 'Schtickle' of a story 'Baby Mamas' from this with thoughts of your 'Family Stories' and 'UpBringing'...so sue me for stealin' your ideas. We really all do pick up ideas from one and another; for better or worse. To Quote you BackAtchU, "But it brought you in, Jay"...So good and SO Heather to Quip like that. Special memories will never be replaced - often not terrific at the time - but, the memories come popping out during this season. HaPpy Holidays to you, my Village Bunkmate, (metaphorically writing) and to your lovely brood! Just 'j' Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community -

  • This was incredible Heather! Really brought me back. The last generation of outside players and no phone havers I miss those days so much

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    This is stunning, Heather! Although not all the memories are there for me, because there are some references I recognise, but the ones I do, hit hard and gave me that nostalgic and sad feelings! Congrats on Top Story for this and sorry it took me so long to get to it! :) cinquante mille

  • Kristen Balyeat6 months ago

    Oh my goodness, this is amazing, Heather! You just touched on so many memories! What a beautiful and nostalgic piece! It’s so hard to grow up, but just makes it harder when we lose such impactful people. Loved this so much! 💫💞

  • Lena Folkert6 months ago

    Welp, I’m crying. It’s hard enough to grow up. To age. To lose your youth. But when the things from your youth age and grow and die as well. It’s brutal honestly. Change can be great. But degradation, deterioration, and becoming a thing of a past that is fading into nothing. It’s like a second death. I loved every line. Fiends and mash. Prince, turner and petty. Yes girl! The new generations seriously have no idea. I have seen that each year the younger ones care less and less for what came before. For me the songs and people of my mothers youth are still a piece of me as well. But the generations now. It’s so disconnected. Sad. Blah. Well deserved TS my friend. I remember it with you.

  • Denise E Lindquist6 months ago

    Congratulations on top story! ❤️ Well deserved!🎉🎉🎉

  • Lisa santos6 months ago

    Amazing poem so delicate yet powerful to read!!

  • Each one you lifted up, a treasure held dear by me.

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    😢 I feel like this similarly quite a lot! I find it overwhelming at times, like I can’t return, but I just don’t like so much of our current culture and ‘advances’ and its dastardly effects on us. Things very rarely feel simple anymore. Not that we didn’t have some problems before sure..and I know in hindsight we tend to look through things with those rose coloured glasses, but that cannot deny the fact that many are not satisfied by what is! So I found this really relatable and thoughtful, thanks ☺️ 🙏 ..ps I watched all of golden girls for the first time over 2.5 years before going to bed most nights. It helped me sleep and relax and laugh…so when it sadly ended for me a few months ago, I just started it up all over again lol! 😁😆 Congrats on your awesome top story Heather.

  • Yayyyyy I'm back to say congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    Talk about nostalgia and the pang of sadness at knowing, soon so many will not know the references we make that once were "pop-culture"... Both sad and heart warming! Great work Heather and congrats on Top Story!

  • JBaz6 months ago

    That brought out the warm fuzzies for me. Great job as usual Congratulations

  • Another out of the park...great job

  • This is deep ♥️💯😉📝✌️Congratulations on your Top Story🎉

  • Dana Stewart6 months ago

    Could I love this more? So well crafted, Heather. And no, I could not. You touched on so many of my favorites. And the Jordache jeans at the rink - memories of 'truckin' came flooding back. Congrats on the Top Story

  • Gerald Holmes6 months ago

    Beautifully done, Heather. I believe we all need to slow down some times and remember. Congrats on the Top Story.

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Congrats, Empress ❤

  • Melissa Ingoldsby6 months ago

    Outstanding piece with truly unique and emotional content

  • Judey Kalchik 6 months ago

    Thank you for your marvelous remembrance. I believe as long as we remember and share, they aren't really gone. It still aches down deep in our souls, though.

  • Test6 months ago

    Read this...thought I'd commented. Didn't-sorry! Thoughtful and interesting to read -It seems sometimes we spend out entire adult lives saying goodbye and wondering where it all went x 🤍 Congratulations on Top Story 🤍

  • Antoinette L Brey6 months ago

    i had forgotten the after school specials and i loved the roller rink. brought back good memories

  • Diani Alvarenga6 months ago

    Loved reading this!

  • Gerard DiLeo6 months ago

    This is the "Breaking News!" generation, and the news ain't good.

  • Manisha Dhalani6 months ago

    Good ol' days

  • The Dani Writer6 months ago

    Schoolhouse Rock and BIG time feels! I am grateful beyond measure that you wrote and shared this Heather. It does feel like a time slipping away into oblivion. But WE lived it! Between The Jeffersons and penny-candy and everyone in the neighbourhood who looked out for you and trust that was earned and so tangible and firm that it was hard to slice it with a knife. Connecting with those who remember helps. Thank you, my friend!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.