Poets logo

MTWTFSS

Everybody Talks

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
12
MTWTFSS
Photo by Stefan Sommarsjö on Unsplash

*

it started off easy enough

the goal was to just get through Monday

don't know why it's always so rough

there's something off about that day

the phone calls were endless

e-mails galore

when it began to seem hopeless

I headed straight for the door

a break for my sanity

some grub for my belly

I'm low on the vanity

but I heard someone say...Kelli

I turned with a smile

awaiting a smile in return

but the tone, it seemed hostile

and my stomach did churn

could they be talking about me (?)

that face isn't familiar

no, it couldn't be

but the conversation was killer

this Kelly was a fiend

that's why it's spelled with a y

ya know what I mean

my name ends with an I

so, just to be clear

I leaned in a bit closer

it was so hard to hear

but now, I needed the closure

Finally, I couldn't stand it

you know, I just had to be sure

only one way to handle

a topic so crass and obscure

so, I turned around

and said as sweet as could be

hey girls, that tone you're taking is loud

could you adjust it for me

and before they could shoot

that mind your own, glare

I smiled faking, being cute

with an icy mom stare

I winked to be civil

and mumbled under my breath

besides your talk is drivel

and here was my sudden death

I'm the Kelli you're dissin'

and if you want the truth, you should ask

I know that man you've been kissin'

that's why I divorced his ass

*

This was for Sleepy Drafts eavesdropping prompt, although, this one is fiction (mostly)

slam poetryhumorFor Fun
12

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶2 months ago

    Excellent poem… If you can’t say something to someone’s face, best not to say it at all… was how I was brought up! Pretty good rule of thumb 🙃

  • I smiled faking, being cute with an icy mom stare I winked to be civil I think all of us have done this at least once in our lives! Hahahahahaha. Loved your poem!

  • I love it! (Mostly for the part that isn't fiction, lol.)

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Super lines!!! Loving your rhyme!!!💕♥️♥️

  • Hayley Matto2 months ago

    "this Kelly was a fiend/that's why it's spelled with a y/ya know what I mean/my name starts with an I" This line got the biggest grin out of me, as a Hayley with two Y's, and no one ever seems to spell it right, this hit home.. not to mention my ex fell for a Hailey... haha little bit of a reverse! But this was such a fun take on the challenge, and I really appreciated your rhyme scheme!!

  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    One of my favs!!!

  • Daphsam2 months ago

    Very beautiful

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Haha. That's great.

  • sleepy drafts2 months ago

    I *love* this, Kelli!!! Omg, "that icy mom stare" - the best, most terrifying thing on this planet, lol. Amazing, Kelli. Thank you so much for writing this and for entering it into the Sleepy Mission!! 💗💓 This is so awesome!

  • Skyler Saunders2 months ago

    All of the power and wit packed into a language elevate this piece to parts humorous and others dead serious. It brings together all of the emotions related to what’s in a name.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.