Poets logo

Nightmares

What if you don’t remember your nightmares?

By Denise E LindquistPublished 19 days ago 1 min read
7
Nightmares
Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

Revisit your last nightmare. What do you think your subconscious was trying to tell you? Rupi Kaur’s Gratitude Writing Prompts

Years ago, I had quit sugar and flour. I had what I considered a nightmare when I dreamt about 12 banana splits sitting in front of me at Bridgemans in my town. I woke up thinking I had broken my abstinence.

What I did was call my sponsor and ask her what I should do. She said to not worry about it. According to her that was really normal and happens to people when they are going through withdrawal.

She said, “I tell people to double their efforts for a while. meaning to add another meeting or two. Then read more literature and talk to your sponsor more often.”

One thing about me is that I almost never remember a nightmare or really any dream. I know everyone has dreams, but mine are not available most of the time to me.

As a child, I remember having awful, scary nightmares. I don’t remember what they were, just that they happened. I decided to not remember them. That happened. When I asked for help to get them back, I was given a couple of things to do and when I did those things, I still didn’t have dreams back.

I am okay without nightmares; however, I would like to have dreams. And I am an adult woman and should be able to handle an occasional nightmare.

Nighttime can be a scary time

Insight into why is not a crime

Getting dreams back is good

How can I do this or should

This be left alone, or no?

My time with this has been so

Awful that who cares if it doesn’t come back.

Right? Well, I did that’s who!

Especially since it was a hard one to do.

Say, I still want to and it makes me blue!

~~~~

First published by Mercury Press

GratitudeFor FunAcrostic
7

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 15 days ago

    Praying that vivid, beautiful dreams begin to come forth for you! Thx for sharing this piece! It was interesting & insightful!

  • Keeping my finger crossed for you to be able to sleep well without any nightmares 🤞🤞✨️❤️

  • Yeah definitely. Nightmares are very weird and love your story.

  • Margaret Brennan19 days ago

    Yep, nightmares can be scary. I try to figure out what they mean, but I'm usually at a loss. Two nights ago, I dreamed that my granddaughter said, "Wow, Grandma, you got fat!" The truth is that I'd lost 40 pounds. It took me almost two years, but I'm thin now, so where did that dream come from? I haven't had a cupcake since.

  • Lana V Lynx19 days ago

    So very true about nightmares: I'm a woman in my 50s and I still remember my childhood nightmares.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.