Poets logo

Morning Delirium

An acrostic poem of joyous lament

By Ian ReadPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
19
Morning Delirium
Photo by David Mao on Unsplash

Dreaming ends, there are dozens of thoughts fluttering aimless

In my head. All but one are nameless.

"Salutations, morning sun!" I say as it stabs my eyes.

Tomorrow has come, that is no surprise.

Randomness dwells where my insanity swells,

A speeding silly thought for inspiration, but it was all for naught.

Coffee was my usual remedy

To this wild inconsistent malady.

I rush to my desk with brew in hand

On willingness to write at my mind's command.

"Not again!" I lamented, "The idea is dead! But at least in its absence I have this nectar instead!"

slam poetryhumor
19

About the Creator

Ian Read

I am an archaeologist and amateur story-teller. I publish a variety of content, but usually I write short and serial fantasy and sci-fi.

Find me on:

||Discord||Twitch||

From New Hampshire

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 7 months ago

    Literally me at 3am in the morning when I have an idea! 🎉🥲

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    Great poem!

  • Delightfully whimsical.

  • Celia in Underland8 months ago

    So funny. This line "Salutations, morning sun!" I say as it stabs my eyes.' is perfectly brilliant! And the ending-Love this!

  • Tina D'Angelo8 months ago

    The fear of losing that one great thought. The one powerful sentence. The idea that an entire novel would begin with. It hurts until another one comes along.

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Love this lots. So very relatable!

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Oh damn. This is so relatable. So many brilliant ideas lost in a blink. Now what did I do with my coffee. 😉

  • And another good one excellent work

  • Obsidian Words11 months ago

    Yeah I for sure need coffee, but this came out great!!!

  • Rowan Finley 11 months ago

    Now I would like more coffee after reading this! :D

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    Very interesting take on the challenge!

  • Great piece❤️‍🔥❗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.