Poets logo

Moon Tide

a poem of only short words, written for the short+sweet challenge

By Suze KayPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Moon Tide
Photo by Ian Nicole Reambonanza on Unsplash

In the dawn, you are a mess and I love you.

Our cat nips and mews for pets, cold nose in my neck.

I push her off, but you fold her in a hug and I love you more.

//

At noon, your hair is wave-wet and I love you.

The moon tide left salt on your skin, red from the hot dime sun.

I rub you with aloe and I love you more.

//

In the deep dark, my love is the moon and I hold you in it.

The city is big, this town so tiny. No one else is here, or even back home,

when you get down to it. Just us, and our cat, and our love.



love poems

About the Creator

Suze Kay

Pastry chef by day, insomniac writer by night.

Find here: stories that creep up on you, poems to stumble over, and the weird words I hold them in.

Or, let me catch you at www.suzekay.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Beautiful piece. Well done.

  • Randy Baker5 months ago

    Great phrase, this: "red from the hot dime sun" Wonderful love poem!

  • Poppy 12 months ago

    This is insanely good omg. How is all your writing so incredible? This is yet another piece that deserves a win!

  • Michèle Nardelli12 months ago

    Lovely poem - domestic and intimate - I liked the combo

  • Caroline Jane12 months ago

    Oh so adorable! Nicely done. Mine has the moon in it too, but yours is far more uplifting and joyous than mine is. ❤️❤️

Suze KayWritten by Suze Kay

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.