Poets logo

The End

A poem about the cyclical fears of our human race

By Suze KayPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
9
The End
Photo by CHUTTERSNAP on Unsplash

Have people always been this bad?

I read The Wasteland and think so. I read the paper and think so, too.

The moon blinks and the sea recedes.

I weep and you do, too.

//

Guitar strings shiver and the mist creeps in.

This is the oldest place in the world, with trunks thicker than cars.

We sit by the fire and wait for something to happen.

We sit by the fire and hope nothing does.

//

Tell me the story about the bear mace. Tell me

about napalm, and pits in the jungle. Tell me

that it's getting better, all the time, and then sing me

another one that doesn't rhyme.

social commentary
9

About the Creator

Suze Kay

Pastry chef by day, insomniac writer by night.

Find here: stories that creep up on you, poems to stumble over, and the weird words I hold them in.

Or, let me catch you at www.suzekay.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    I absolutely love this! So talented, you never disappoint.

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Oh, this is gorgeous. And yeah, I think we always have been this bad.

  • Stephanie Hoogstad2 months ago

    This is a beautiful poem with a very good question in it: are people bad? It seems, lately, as though people are getting worse and worse and now nature is fighting back against us—and we deserve it. Lovely job.

  • To answer the question in the first line - honestly, I think people have been worse. But you - you are a people. And look how beautifully you write :D xx

  • Mack Devlin12 months ago

    Excellent

  • Poppy 12 months ago

    Oh my gosh. “The moon blinks and the sea recedes”, “guitar strings shiver” and “we sit by the fire and wait for something to happen… we sit by the fire and hope nothing does”. This lines are stunningly written

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.