Poets logo

misunderstood (sleeping beauty)

a free verse poem

By Joelle E🌙Published 7 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2023
71
misunderstood (sleeping beauty)
Photo by Drew Dizzy Graham on Unsplash

look me in the eyes.

tell me, what do you see?

*

someone who cowers

and heeds every plea?

*

do you see someone shy

someone lacking defense?

perhaps you see someone

without confidence?

*

well i’m here to say

first impressions can lie.

from the first, sweet hellos

to the final goodbye

*

you can go a whole life

never known as you should.

i should know – it’s my self

that’s been misunderstood.

*

all of my skittishness

all of my fear

had its own cause, beyond

that which pleases your ear

*

and none of my favors–

kindness, overdid–

not one has been done

yet for your benefit

*

i protected myself

the best way i knew how.

when the rain came

my own head i did bow

*

and in the long night

i found shelter, and heat

by preserving my light

(though its flicker was weak)

*

from all of the stimuli

all of the fear

this cross that was never

my burden to bear

*

but one i absorbed

long before i was born.

this curse was my gift–

briar rose and her thorn

*

look at me now.

pray, what is it you see?

*

perhaps i’m transforming

into a new me?

*

or maybe i’m finally

not quite so opaque?

*

you can hear me, and see me?

well, make no mistake–

*

this woman is the person

i’ve been all along.

outside, i was trembling

inside, i was strong

*

knowing one day, somehow

i would burst into song–

sleeping beauty means night

but aurora means dawn

performance poetryinspirational
71

About the Creator

Joelle E🌙

There is gold in every piece of your story ✨

📝 Find me on Medium

⭐️ Shop the Starfish Project

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (43)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    Oh I loved this one even more on my second reading! Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Congratulations on TS. (And my wife goes to Joelle tomorrow to get her hair done.)

  • Naia Louise7 months ago

    so very very gooooood.. Bless you and your deep inner self shining through the moonlight I'm dancing to the same song with you <3

  • J. S. Wade7 months ago

    Love this, would love to hear you read it aloud. Congratulations 🥇

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    Powerful! I love it!

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    Oh child, you sure told that someone how strength is always there down deep, deep where you may miss it shining, But there for sure. This was do deep and surely came from a place of depth and feelings. Beautiful...congrats on TS.

  • Hank Moody7 months ago

    This is beautifully written 😍

  • Joe Patterson7 months ago

    This reminds me of a song I love. Congratulations on top story.

  • Forspiya7 months ago

    check this https://vocal.media/poets/witty-poetry

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Beautiful piece. Congrats on the TS.

  • Dorota7 months ago

    Congratulations ! 🕊️✨👌🤍🥳

  • Bugsy Watts7 months ago

    Holy yes

  • I love that way the poem shifts and boldly builds. The rhyme and meter are beautifully arranged, and your word choice is exquisite. Well done!

  • Carol Townend7 months ago

    This is beautifully expressed and something I can relate to in terms of mental health. I really enjoyed reading it.

  • This was excellent, a great example of free verse

  • Brenton F7 months ago

    "you can go a whole life/never known as you should/i should know – it’s my self/ that’s been misunderstood." - this line hit home! What a magical piece of writing!

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Well done, Joelle! This is incredible and well deserving of its Top Story badge. Congrats!

  • Chat GPT8 months ago

    ChatGPT Login Link is a natural language processing tool driven by AI technology that to have human-like conversations and much more with the user and article online free.. https://chatgptlogin.link/

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    Whew this ending sent me! This was so powerful!!!!

  • Sarah D8 months ago

    Nice reading this! Read mine too? https://vocal.media/poets/a-guilty-pleasure-moment

  • EBUKA OPUTA8 months ago

    Impressive tips

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    This is brilliant, excellent flow and rhyme scheme; mostly I’m impressed with the message and your themes. ..”never known as you should”. So true. I loved this thoughtful and inspirational message by the end of your poem!

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    This is stunning start to finish! I adore the ending!

  • Tonya8 months ago

    I can relate. Love the flow. Congratulations!

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Bold, positive and beautifully written. Congratulations!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.