Poets logo

Face Palm

A Poem on Managing Awkward Situations

By Michelle LiewPublished 11 days ago 1 min read
2
Face Palm
Photo by JAIME CUADRA on Unsplash

I'm sure there are many occasions when you've felt like putting your face to your palm. Yes, I'm referring to awkward clashes or moments.

I experienced one recently, and the feeling isn't pleasant. Awkward situations can leave one feeling silly at best, and out in the cold at worst. We avoid them as best we can, though they are sometimes out of our control.

So, we try to avoid doing the Face Palm. Acknowledging the awkwardness helps to break tension. Apologize if necessary, and move on gracefully by redirecting the conversation. 

Enjoy these free verses.

Palm

Held

To the side

Of the face

Feels strange

Palm

Wants

Someone to know

That skin feels

Clammy

Palm

Contrite

About 

Odd

Circumstance

Palm

Gently

Comes off

The side. 

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Michelle Liew

Hi, i am an English Language teacher cum freelance writer with a taste for pets, prose and poetry. When I'm not writing my heart out, I'm playing with my three dogs, Zorra, Cloudy and Snowball.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake11 days ago

    Well done. Good work.

  • Gosh my anxiety could never. I'll just die, lol. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.