Poets logo

Midnight absolution

inspired by the In Eclipse challenge

By Heather HublerPublished 15 days ago Updated 14 days ago 1 min read
10
Created with NightCafeStudio

~

Etched into my DNA, imprinted on my heart, you make it such a simple

choice to choose–I'll always pick shadows if it means you'll have the

light. For you were meant for it, the sun's glory and the moonbeams' bath, firelight and starry glow. Yet I,

I am meant for other. A willing

phantom of the darkness; a depthless, blackened void to drain your

sorrows, ease your pain; I'll do anything to keep the taint of pitch from bleeding onto you.

Ever your slave to the night. Your midnight absolution.

____________________________________________________

Thank you very much for reading :)

~

You can read all of my In Eclipse challenge entries so far in this compilation post!

nature poetrylove poemsAcrostic
10

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes7 days ago

    Wow. I think this is one of my faves. 'I'll always pick shadows if it means you'll have the light.' Damn!

  • Shirley Belk15 days ago

    Intriguing

  • I was once like this. But now I choose myself. I do have relapses though because it's tough to do that when I'm a pathological people pleaser but I'm trying hehehe. Loved your Acrostic!

  • JBaz15 days ago

    This has Mothers love written all over it. What a parent won't do for their child. Beautiful

  • Hannah Moore15 days ago

    I am thinking of my children.

  • Rachel Deeming15 days ago

    This is excellent, Heather.

  • Dana Crandell15 days ago

    Dang it, Sissy! Jest when i think I'm all catched up on m' reads, yore name pops up in my note if acayshuns.😉 This is soooo good! Deep, and dark, and beautifully written! Big bro is awestruck!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.