Poets logo

Marshmallow Memories

Sneaky Snacks and All

By ROCK Published about a month ago Updated about a month ago 2 min read
19
Marshmallow Memories
Photo by FlyD on Unsplash

No one notices marshmallows, at least that's what we thought

The bag seems always full

Unless one might get caught

Unlike chewing gum

Their messiness lasts much longer

Sugary, plumply goodness stolen from down under.

Sneaky snacks are so delightful,

the joy is in the stealing,

no kid wants an apple, especially in it's peeling.

Tucked away for baking maybe once a year,

no one knows they're missing,

'til the bag is nearly cleared.

Yikes! Mom's thumbing through recipes, then loudly she proclaims,

"perhaps a Jell-O mould, it's nice to have a change!"

"I'll throw in some marshmallows." our faces turn quite sallow.

Counting out my pennies, a few nickels and a dime,

I shout out, "I want cookies" and check the clock for time.

"What's the hurry kiddo, you look like you've seen a ghost, you barely

drank your milk or finished up your toast?"

Is she really onto me and my sneaky snacks, or am I having what

some might call a full on snack attack?

Do I go to the mini mart and try to buy

Some more (so' more's?), or do I wait for the night to even out the score?

Perhaps I should get it over, dramatically confess?

I watch her close the cookbook, her mind made up I guess.

"I think I'll make banana bread, it's better for our guests."

Now free to ride my bike, and wile away my hours, Sneaky Snacks runs

back as her guilt has super powers. "I ate all the marshmallows!" yet she

doesn't even blink, she's washing dishes at the kitchen sink.

Sneaky Snacks felt so funny when she snuck about at night

to take another 'mallow from that cupboard out of sight.

Creeping on all fours, shushing her dog who barks,

rolling on the carpet with marshmallows after dark.

Her altar has now been shattered, the mischief gone un-noted,

there's no life for sneaky snacks if she isn't even gloating.

What can I do to feel the thrill, to make it all seem daring?

I ate a bag of marshmallows without Mom even caring!

humorFor Fun
19

About the Creator

ROCK

Writing truth or fiction, feels as if I am stroking across a canvas, painting colourful words straight from my heart. I write from my old farmhouse in Sweden. *BLOGLINK

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Linda Bromleyabout a month ago

    Oh Rock, so much fun this poem

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Entertaining and fun!!! Love how you ending this one!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Raphael Fontenelleabout a month ago

    XD Heh. Something me and my brothers would do, too.

  • “M”about a month ago

    Wonderful poem

  • L.C. Schäferabout a month ago

    Mmmm squishy sweet mallows goodness!!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Hahahahaha this made me chuckle! I loveeeeee marshmallows and your poem!

  • Oooo, you & my older brother, experts at the finding & sneaking game. That is, until mom hid the goodies high up in the built-in cabinets in the family room & he didn't bother to dust off the footprints he left in the dust.

  • Kageno Hoshinoabout a month ago

    Funny

  • Farhat Naseemabout a month ago

    Yummy

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Hahahaha I always found all the chocolate. One time mom made cookies for some friends coming and froze them. When she went to thaw them half were gone! My husband loves marshmallows… great job on this poem - funny and clever.

  • TheSpinstressabout a month ago

    This is so cute! I was always sneaking into my mum's baking cupboard as a kid, too, but sadly we rarely had marshmallows. :(

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    This is just so good!

  • John Coxabout a month ago

    Another wonderful snack poem! You’re all conspiring to make me hungry. Guess I open the cupboard and eat some marshmallows.

  • Celia in Underlandabout a month ago

    Brilliantly hillarious! Love he joy and fun of this! 🤍

  • Allwyn Roman Waghelaabout a month ago

    I absolutely love them

  • Rowan Finley about a month ago

    Oh my goodness, this is hilarious - last night I was laying in bed, helping my daughter get to sleep and I made up a random story about a village of marshmallows. Haha! 😂

  • Gerard DiLeoabout a month ago

    S'more or less. But the whole bag. Check your A1C, ROCK. I enjoyed this.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.