Poets logo

Freckled Fences

Spots of Time

By ROCK Published about a month ago Updated about a month ago 2 min read
14
Freckled Fences
Photo by Deniz Demirci on Unsplash

Marching in circles, residues of you shape how memories are so misconstrued, like tossing jacks in the yellow, spring sun, dropping freckles one by one; spying a time through ole metal fencing when love like yours was so convincing. Irresistible reminders of long ago days when I was so special, not just a phase.

Marching in circles to void out my pain, marching in circles in sweet floral rain.

The borders are up, the boundaries in place yet how I'll always reflect your sunshiny face. I once had a pencil I wrapped up to send so I could feel your letters and remember your hands. The girl who believed in you so is hidden behind a woman you no longer know, and never will find. To imagine sunlight in your ageless eyes, the never shared longing for unsaid good-byes.

Marching in sadness, averting the space, my heart holds forever and can never erase. I looked for holes in the chain linked fence, for ways to reclaim us, or ways to commence. I know you are broken, that you want to believe that all is forgiven, it's just up to me. You created a new life built on lies, let others berate me, filled them with lies. You chose to abandon your own little girl who hung onto you tight in her own little world.

Some days are heavier than I'd like, waiting for grace to grant me a sunny sweet life. Dreams have faded where you'd become, a perfect Dad, just as you are to the other ones. Truth comes out, they say in the end, there'll always be fences, some we can't mend.

Marching in circles to void out my pain, marching in circles in sweet floral rain.

Marching in circles singing the la-la song, I remember your secrets from dust till dawn. Little me spies through the gaps in an ole crooked fence where I once waited for you to just catch a glimpse. Freckles we share like spots of time, where I was yours and you were mine.

Marching in circles, residues of you shape how memories are so misconstrued, like tossing jacks in the yellow, spring sun, dropping freckles one by one; spying a time through ole metal fencing when love like yours was so convincing. Irresistible reminders of long ago days when I was so special, not just a phase.

love poemssad poetryheartbreakFamilyfact or fiction
14

About the Creator

ROCK

Writing truth or fiction, feels as if I am stroking across a canvas, painting colourful words straight from my heart. I write from my old farmhouse in Sweden. *BLOGLINK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Painfully sad!!!❤️❤️💕

  • “M”about a month ago

    Greatly written ♡

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    This was so poignantly beautiful and made me so emotional. Loved it so much!

  • To be phased out of a parent's heart & life--how does it even happen, much less how does one ever recover?

  • Beautifully written… ‘ Freckles we share like spots of time, where I was yours and you were mine.’ So sorry, like too many children, you had to live through this.

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    My heart holds forever; the pencil, gaps in the fence… all a wonderfully painted picture but heartbreaking to be a “phase.” Great writing!

  • Caroline Cravenabout a month ago

    Irresistible reminders of long ago days when I was so special, not just a phase.... What a brilliant line. This was so good and so true.

  • The Invisible Writerabout a month ago

    Beautiful writing I once had a pencil I wrapped up to send so I could feel your letters and remember your hands…wow just wow

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    Marching in circles, those repeated point of contact. Very good.

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    This is incredibly beautiful. I especially.loved the line about tossing jacks and dropping freckles. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.