Poets logo

Lover's duet

A romantic poem

By The Invisible WriterPublished 3 days ago Updated 2 days ago 1 min read
Lover's duet
Photo by Filipp Romanovski on Unsplash

Her want was an ocean, with waves and storms, that rose and crested

His need was a river, with currents and rapids, that flowed and churned

She took my darkness, to make my nightmares, into dreams

He cut through my grey sky, to bring back the light, to my lost sun

Her skin was a salt-covered canvas, where I painted, self-portraits

His eyes were blue fields, where I slept, surrounded by sunbursts of green

She sang a song, to my torn spirit, that carried my soul home

He gathered my pain, in soft touches, that made me his own

Her fire was a passion, burning so hot, I got lost in the heat

His flame, was a golden ember, glowing inside my Pheonix chest

She was an angel, unfolding her wings, with each beat of my heart

He was a wind, sweeping me away, with each steal of my breath

Her moments were gifts, I unwrapped, in endless kisses and forever loves

His minutes were warm embraces, that melted away, everything but him

Together, we made a love, that lived in memories

We decided to make, for the rest of our lives

love poemsFree Verse

About the Creator

The Invisible Writer

"Poetry is what happens when nothing else can"

Charles Bukowski

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (13)

  • Babs Iversonabout 6 hours ago

    Exquisitely expressed!!! Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Cathy holmesabout 19 hours ago

    Beautiful entry. Well done, Will.

  • Lovely challenge entry

  • Happy happy love. A writers perspective is romantic!

  • This is beautiful! :)

  • Hannah Moore2 days ago

    This is an epic, grandiose romance that only a writer could write!

  • Mariann Carroll3 days ago

    Thank you for writing this romantic poem.

  • Awww, this was soooo sweet! May they both always be happy together 🥰🥰🥰

  • Donna Fox (HKB)3 days ago

    I love how beautifully you made these voices alternate and the genuine love you were able to portray here, great work Will!!

  • Oh my word…so romantic

  • Sweileh 8883 days ago

    Thank you for the interesting and delicious content. Follow my story now.

  • Caroline Jane3 days ago

    You are such a wonderful romantic! Gorgeous. 😍😍😍

  • Andrea Corwin 3 days ago

    A beautiful and passionate love poem. A wind sweeping her away, her moments gifts. Lovely descriptions throughout.

The Invisible WriterWritten by The Invisible Writer

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.