Poets logo

License and Registration

Narrative Dialogue

By Andrea Corwin Published 6 days ago Updated 5 days ago 3 min read

(The headliner photo is AI created with Leonardo.Ai)

Hi Officer.

License and registration, please.

Did I do something wrong?

Why do you think I pulled you over?

I don't know; that is why I asked the question, Ma'am.

License and registration, please.

My registration is in the glove box, and my license is in my purse. Leave your gun holstered; I'm not making a fuss.

Easy. Go ahead and open the glove box. I can see everything you do.

Yes, everything in my car, you can see standing there at my window. Here it is! My registration. Tell me, please, what I did.

Don't question me on my job. I had every right to pull you over. You were speeding.

I have rights also, Officer. May I call my father?

You may not!

I DO have that right. I'm dialing.

Do NOT do that! Put down the cell phone!

You can't actually think that I have to obey your order not to call my father, do you?

I am an officer of the law. I have every right to refuse you a phone call and every right to arrest you on suspicion.

Suspicion? What suspicion? I suspect you are obstructing my justice, and my rights. Why did you pull me over?

I'm asking the questions here, Miss.

Police speed all the time when they want to. I have seen them turn on their red lights to go through a stoplight and then turn them off. So my question is, again, why am I pulled over?

We are not discussing police actions. Hand over your registration and license.

Why am I pulled over?

You were speeding.

No, I don't think I was speeding.

Radar says you were.

The car ahead of me was definitely speeding.

So were you. It doesn't matter; your car is on my radar and doing ten times over the limit.

I think your radar got the one ahead. I wasn't doing ten over - five at most.

Five over is speeding. Hand over the registration. Where is your license?

I am trying to find it, sorry.

You said it was in your purse.

Yes, it was, but it must have fallen out. I will have to look under the seats.

Absolutely not; stay in the car.

Oh, it won't take me long to find it.

Get your hand off the door handle. Do not leave your seat.

You wanted my driver's license, Officer.

You said it was in your purse.

It must be under my seat or stuck between the console and the seat.

All right. I am ticketing you for speeding and for driving without a license.

Officer, my license is in the car, but you won't let me get it.

Hand it to me through the window.

I have to get out to search for it, remember?

No, do not get out of the car! Is this your current address on the registration?

No, I moved two weeks ago and haven't had time to update with Licensing.

I need your current address. Stop! You cannot photo me!

I have every right to snap a photo of you. My address is on my license, Officer.

Good, but you don't have your license.

I do! You just won't let me get it.

Get out of the car!

What?

Get out of the car slowly.

But you told me to stay in the car.

I am arresting you. Get out of the car! Hand over the cell phone.

**

Driving along humming a tune

Red lights behind me this day in June

I pull over and the sheriff walks up

License and registration, she says in a huff

While I reach for the glove box, she checks for her gun

Just a minute, I’m doing what you asked, I won’t run

Hand it over, your license too

Here it is, but what can I do?

License is needed, hand it to me

I need to get out, it fell under the seat

You were speeding, it’s on radar

You’re mistaken, that wasn’t my car

Now I've taken a photo of you

I'm sure it will please the ACLU.

social commentaryhumorFree VerseFor Fun

About the Creator

Andrea Corwin

🐘Wildlife 🌳 Environment 🥋3rd°

Pieces I fabricate, without A.I. © 2024 Andrea O. Corwin

https://atmospherepress.com/interview-with-andrea-corwin/

Instagram @andicorwin

Threads @andicorwin

X - no holds barred! @andiralph

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (12)

  • Gloria Penelopea day ago

    🤣🤣🤣🤣 very interesting poem Andrea. I enjoyed reading it.

  • Oh Andrea. Did this really happen to you. Perhaps hilarious policemen. 🤣🤣

  • The Dani Writer3 days ago

    My, my, MY!!! That was intense! The tension was palpable. Only too sad that this happens so much in real life and the broken system is still touted as the daily standard. Good luck for the challenge!

  • Shirley Belk3 days ago

    Oh my....did this really happen to you? Maybe the DMV should provide lanyards to put around the mirror that have license and registration, insurance info inside?

  • Hannah Moore5 days ago

    I hate how everyone loses here. I'm frustrated and confused on half the lines and scared and on edge on the other half! Well done.

  • CHRISTIAN P5 days ago

    Beautiful poet ❤️

  • Mark Gagnon5 days ago

    I was stopped once while delivering a new bus to the West Coast. Fortunately, I always carried a handbook of ICC rules so every time he told me I was in violation I showed him the reg that said I wasn't. He finally left, frustrated. Your story reminded me of that incident.

  • Hahahhahahahahahhahaa some police do be like that 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 I immensely enjoyed this!

  • Michelle Liew5 days ago

    Wow, Andrea. Now that's telling her! Well done!

  • Jay Kantor5 days ago

    Ac - Whew - I'm not a challenge guy. But, you have my vote to be the VocalBucket PolicePiecePoet..! Fun..! j.in.l.a.

  • John Cox5 days ago

    This is my favorite dialogue challenge so far, Andrea! Loved the poem conclusion at the end too!

Andrea Corwin Written by Andrea Corwin

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.