Poets logo

Leaf & Dove

a love poem

By Gina C.Published about a year ago 2 min read
Image courtesy of Shutterstock

I was lost a bit, I know...

gone in

the fog and grit,

and snow.

And now,

I’m not sure what I have

come back to, babe.

*

But,

*

it can be so easy just

to cry and lose my wit, (but I)

do know that what we’re of is love (and not)

of hate, or hurt, or rage, or war, or jade that ends

in fit.

*

Cut

*

deep into my skin, you do…

you

won’t let me off the hook (I’m like)

a fish, and you

won’t let me sink,

or swim,

or wade in one more day with you.

*

Gut

*

the hope and vim out of me, baby -

save

only what you say

you gave me, I’ll

bow down to you

and beg you now

to stay and kiss and love me like

I know the fool in you

deep down does want

to do.

*

Just

*

eat up all

my life (much like)

the lion, like

the Leo that you are…

I know that it can feed your ego when

I weep and say, “don’t run away -

here is who and what we are.”

*

Oh,

*

and tell me now,

is this the way it has to be?

Is our love a nail or spar of jade -

are we amid a war of hurt

and scar and hate and rage?

Or have we only lost

the key to free us from

this box and from

this cage?

*

Is it

*

lust or is it love?

Is it rust or is it

gold that has been

lost in all the mud? We

sift the ruin set amid us,

have we

ever been a tale of

leaf and dove?

(Can we)

find just one kind act to fill our cup (now that we)

are on the bar and want

to jump?

*

Is it dust or is it love?

Can we

move past this wall amid us, will

you toss me just one bone or will you

tug and pull the rug?

*

I will set the past on fire, babe

I

will pay no mind to rust or jade.

For as I’ve told

I know it’s gold

of what we’re cast and have

been made.

*

For

to love you is a must,

and I know you need me and that this -

that we

are love and not just lust.

*

So,

let’s be free from jail,

my love -

let us make bail...

we are a tale

of leaf, and cure, and let, and be, and dove.

*

-Gina C. 🧚‍♀️✨

love poems

About the Creator

Gina C.

Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Poet🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

Waterfall Rhymer

📖🖊️ my novel & poetry book!

Follow my:

  • Ghosts of Relationships' Past Series
  • Inspirational Series

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    This was wondering through a Journey of Love 😍 ❤️💯📝😉❗

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Lovely!!! Beautiful lines!!! Loving this!!❤️❤️💕

  • Oh my goodness! You potrayed the ups and downs of love so well! I loved the uncertainty throughout the poem and the clarity at the ending!

  • Mackenzie Davisabout a year ago

    Truly amazing poetry. I can never write like you do, and I'm glad, because I get to read the fruits of your labor and stand in awe of it. Magnificent rhyming and pacing, the meter is sublime, and you seem to always capture magic. I relate so much to the message here, and I love that you incorporate the work it takes to succeed in a loving relationship. ❤️👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻 I do hope this places!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Where were all these words when I was looking, lol?? You have the best use of vocabulary, my friend. This had such an amazing feel to it, my friend :)

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This right here "Is our love a nail or spar of jade - are we amid a war of hurt and scar and hate and rage? Or have we only lost the key to free us from this box and from this cage?" Wonderful words. Well done, my friend.

  • Emma Kate Colemanabout a year ago

    Wow, Gina! I love the word choices you’ve made here! I’m still thinking about that rust and the gold in the mud… 🙂

Gina C.Written by Gina C.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.