Poets logo

Late Summer Sun

A Poem

By Katerina PetrouPublished 4 days ago 1 min read
Late Summer Sun
Photo by João Barbosa on Unsplash

I met you last summer.

Fell for you in the winter.

Realised it by spring.

Now it is summer again,

and these words are still mine.

My thoughts have changed hues

as the sky turned grey to blue.

There is a part of me that knows

I will always love you.

No matter how much I try not to.

All of my destruction and pollution

cannot change the transition of seasons.

It seems that I must carry you

through each of them to come.

The late summer sun.

Damp leaves beneath my soles.

City lights reflected in our eyes.

Blooming hope for a new story.

The late summer sun again,

that will never truly set.

love poems

About the Creator

Katerina Petrou

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Esala Gunathilake4 days ago

    "It seems that I must carry you through each of them to come." Especially liked that lines. Nice work.

Katerina PetrouWritten by Katerina Petrou

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.